Blog Archives

Sonic Cathedral’s female-fronted roundup for Q4, 2015 – Part 1

SonC logoSince I’ve been snarled up in other matters since the end of September I haven’t been posting our monthly digest of Sonic Cathedral reviews. To catch up, today and tomorrow I’ll be posting a two-part digest covering the last three months of this year.

My heartiest thanks go to SC for being patient. The same to you lovely, gentle people who follow Metal State.

If you don’t know it already, SC runs the website and Facebook page for bands with female vocalists. The SC reviews are deep, detailed and knowledgeable. They carry a lot of other great information about the FF scene in metal and rock, too. Go there!


Read the rest of this entry


Album Stream: Embassy Of Silence – Antler Velvet

In anticipation of its release date on the 20th June, Finnish prog-goth newcomers Embassy Of Silence have uploaded their album Antler Velvet for streaming. Their sophomore album, it’s a 50-minute ride through catchy tunes drenched in Finnish melancholia, just as that country can do so well. The female vocals are front-and-center, a pleasant mid-range which recalls something of the Dutch scene, and the instrumentation focuses more on dark emotion than technical wizardry, as befits the genre. There’s a rock-steady basis to each track, adding to the catchiness of songs such as “Conundrum” and lead single “Unconverted, and some faint growling for atmospheric effect. The requisite folky ballad “Harbour Of Naryon” has an appropriate doomed maritime feel to it, with haunting guest vocals from Ilpo Paasela of The Chant. My personal favorite is “Through Unknown Gateways” with its soaring chorus and (relative) uptempo feel compared to the rest of the album. Antler Velvet then closes with an almost Amorphis-like feel in “Touch The Zenith”, a great track to round off a solid release from these Finns.

An album teaser is at the bottom of this post, or to hear the full thing for yourselves, go over to Those who speak Finnish (or Google Translate) can read track-by-track descriptions from vocalist Ines Lukkanen.