Blog Archives

Sonic Cathedral’s female-fronted roundup for February

SC logoAs we did last month and as we intend to do every month, we’re very pleased to share some of the information posted during the month by our friends at Sonic Cathedral, the website that specialises in reviews of albums by female-fronted bands. Sonic Cathedral covers a wide range of female-fronted metal and rock.

Once again we’re presenting the album details, an intro from SC, and a link to the full review on SC’s website.

Sonic Cathedral has a web magazine and music store and a Facebook page. We highly recommend both of those places to female-fronted bands, labels and fans.

Read the rest of this entry


Mini Reviews: Exence, Dichotomy, Watercolor Butterfly, Crimson Blue

It seems like summer is a good time to release metal albums; it’s been busy to say the least.  The flood of metal seems to be nonstop at the moment.   In order to keep up with the demand and provide as much metal exposure to you, our faithful readers, we find it best to do mini reviews when we get the chance – short and to the point; no bullshit reviews.  This time around I have a couple of death metal bands, an uncomplicated metal band, and a progressive band for you to check out.  I think this is a pretty solid bunch of albums definitely worthy of your time especially if you like the aforementioned metal subgenres and you feel like throwing something across the room.  But, don’t let those labels steer your decision, there are exceptions to every genre.  Let’s start this ride!

Exence – Tabula Rasa

ExenceCoverGrowl at me more!  I like it.  For this Italian band to list Pantera, Nevermore, and Death as their influences, they sure took the melodic and technical parts of those bands and produced something much more insidious.   I have been spinning this one quite a bit mainly because I like Death metal and also because I like how Exence does it.  They have melody and groove and also have beautifully ferocious controlled chaos.  There isn’t anything pretty about Tabula Rasa except for some Chuck Schuldiner inspired guitar solos.  The 10 songs on the album encompass around 51 minutes of music which nothing to shake a stick at for death metal.  It’s brutal to say the least.  Some of the standout songs are Synthetic Memory, The Nuclear Reset, Chitterling for Vultures, and the album’s title song Tabula Rasa.  The album’s release date was 27 May 2013 on Punishment 18 Records.

Read the rest of this entry