Mammal’s Best of 2015 – Part 9/10

Logo

 

Close-up of my left ear.

Close-up of my left ear.

Crunch time approaches. We’re into to the Top 10 in my metal hit parade and the runners-up in my other categories. I’d love to have all of the albums in today’s selection. Oh, wait, I do!

Some of us are born with big floppy ears, some are born lucky, and I’m a guy with big floppy ears who got lucky too.

Without music the world would be a much poorer place. Without metal and prog and all my other loves, the world might as well not exist. My ears and my brain would have nothing to do.

 

Metal

10 Rolo Tomassi10. Rolo Tomassi – Grievances

Experimental/jazz metal, UK

 

09 Symphony X9. Symphony X – Underworld

Progressive metal, USA

 

08 Kingcrow8. Kingcrow – Eidos

Progressive metal, Italy

 

07 Plugs of Apocalypse7. Plugs of Apocalypse – EAS (EP)

Symphonic deathcore, Italy

 

06 Mord'A'Stigmata6. Mord’A’Stigmata – Our Hearts Slow Down (EP)

Avant–garde black metal, Poland

 

Progressive rock

02 Poire2. Poire – Atlantis

Progressive rock, Spain

 

Psychedelic & space rock

02 Ghost2. Ghost – Meliora

Psychedelic progressive rock, Sweden

(“Meliora” is a star performer on many metal lists. To me it’s one of the best things in psychedelic rock since Hawkwind in the 1970s.)

 

Jazz & jazz-related

02 John Zorn2. John Zorn – Simulacrum

Avant-garde jazz rock, USA

(Talk about crossover… Zorn’s constantly changing approach out-progs some great prog and out-metals some terrific experimental metal.)

 

Other music

02 Chelsea Wolfe2. Chelsea Wolfe – Abyss

Folk darkwave, USA

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on January 14, 2016, in Best of 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

