Mammal’s Best of 2015 – Part 4/10

Logo

 

I’ve loved music since the day I was born. I remember it well. The midwife delivered me just after eight in the morning on February 9, 1950. I thought she had kind eyes. My opinion changed when she snipped my umbilical cord.

My mother combed my fur and said to the midwife, “It’s interesting.” Then she added, “What species is it?”

“We’ll know soon,” the midwife replied. “We’ve sent some of its blood to the entomologists and some of its pollen to the botanists. Meanwhile, train it to climb a trellis and play it something with good riffs.” My mother chose these albums for me and I’ve loved them through all the subsequent decades.

Could that be why there’s cross-genre strain of psychedelia in today’s selections?

Metal

35 Meta-Stasis35. Meta-Stasis – The Paradox of Metanoia

Technical death metal, Gibraltar

 

34 Space Mirrors34. Space Mirrors – Stella Polaris

Psychedelic/space metal, Russia

 

33 Finsterforst33. Finsterforst – Mach Dich Frei

Stoner doom metal, Ukraine

 

32 Melted Space32. Melted Space – The Great Lie

Symphonic metal, France

 

31 Wolfhorde31. Architects of Evolution – Global

Deathcore, Australia

 

Progressive rock

07 Neo-Prophet7. Neo-Prophet – T.I.M.E

Neo-progressive rock, Belgium

 

Psychedelic & space rock

07 Mimes On Rollercoasters7. Mimes on Rollercoasters – 3

Psychedelic/space rock, USA

 

Jazz & jazz-related

LBE-TGA7. The Grand Astoria – The Mighty Few

Psychedelic stoner jazz, Russia

 

Other music

07 Lycia7. Lycia – A Line That Connects

Darkwave, USA

 

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on January 7, 2016, in Best of 2015 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Glad to see Finsterforst on the list. This one took me by surprise…generally not into that style much, but they did a great job.

Leave a Reply

