Tales from Bandcamp: The Ark Work by Liturgy

a2971740128_10On Liturgy’s Bandcamp page for this album there is a solitary (for now) user review which says “Haven’t decided yet, if this is total crap or genius 🙂 Favorite track: Follow.”  That pretty much sums up my thoughts on the latest from Liturgy.

Firstly, The Ark Work is totally nowhere close to what I was expecting as a follow-up to the hipster black metal darling (and I honestly do mean that in a complimentary way), Aesthetica.  I mean, Hunter Hunt-Hendrix stoically raps over a MIDI chiptunes blaring black metal tremolo riffs.  There’s fanfare horn sections, techno beats, ambiance, and a noticeable lack of black metal rasps (which are replaced with this kind of grunge era brooding singing/mumbling).  Very little of what I loved about the black metal aspects of Liturgy made it over to this record, and yet this record is 110% Liturgy.  Pretentious, experimental, ‘transcendental’.  Yet, each time I give it a spin I ask myself, what the fuck am I listening to?

And somehow, I keep putting it on.  It engages me every time.  There is something absolutely genius in the confounding directions each song takes.  The confusion is both infuriating and relaxing.  Some of the performances are absolute shit, namely the vocals, but I’ll be damned if I didn’t say everything all fits together perfectly.  It’s kind of like Steve Buscemi, a beautiful train wreck.

I think I lean more towards the opinion of genius on this one, but the cat’s still in the bag.  I don’t know.  I’m confused.  Maybe it needs a more spins.  But why do I continue to fucking listen to this album?

Let me know what you think of this mindfuck down in the comments.  Enjoy! Peace Love and Metal!!!!

About RiffRaff

Just takin' it easy for all you sinners.

Posted on April 9, 2015, in Tales From Bandcamp & Full Album Streams and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Haha, I could have written this myself. Damn you for reminding me of its existence, I had almost forgotten! I do not like how I feel drawn to this even though it actually sounds like crap quite often! Frustrating music. The vocals sometimes remind me of a certain hip hop band I used to listen to in the 90’s. Only more indifferent in the tone of voice, and it’s not a good thing. But still pretty cool…. >.<

    • So, how loud was your “What the actual fuck is this fucking pile of fuck” when ‘Vitriol’ played, lol.

      • I was rolling on the floor laughing, that lame “whey-oh” in the background has me in tears every time and it’s not the only thing that’s hilarious on this record…The elements in the music are cool most of the time, but it’s not far from the sound of Heavy Blog’s April’s fools band You Probably Haven’t Heard Of Us 😉

  2. ChristopherMammal

    The opening fanfare starts something like Copeland’s “Fanfare for the Common Man”, then disintegrates into the version Copeland wrote when he leapt decades forward through time and grabbed some of the good blue stuff in “Breaking Bad”. From there on the album becomes avant-garde metal on meth. Not greatly to my taste.

  3. What the fuck did I just listen to? Is there a “i’m getting too old for this shit” metal genre?

Leave a Reply

