Xerath’s pick of 2014

Xerath

What do the guys in a progressive death/groove band listen to when they’re not making music? This one may surprise you. Or it probably won’t surprise you if you’re a musician.

Xerath’s “III” was my metal album of 2014. It figured I had to ask the band what their favourites were. They sent me a list of their top five albums. I hate to say this, but I’m going to post something from only one of those albums. Frankly, it would be pointless to post from the other four.

Here is Xerath’s list:

#5:  Dirty Loops – Loopified

#4:  Dirty Loops – Loopified

#3.  Dirty Loops – Loopified

#2.  Dirty Loops – Loopified

#1.  Dirty Loops – Loopified

Yep, the smoothest of jazz-prog rock fusion. It fits. Metal and jazz are widely regarded as the two most complex and difficult types of music to play. Look at the written score for any type of modern prog metal or jazz-prog song and you’ll see how tightly a band has to play to do either of them well.

Thanks to Xerath I have Dirty Loops to include as a late addition to my Jazz Top 20 of the year. First, though, I need more Xerath.

 

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on January 1, 2015, in Best of 2014 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

