A Peculiar Diversion: Heino – Schwarz Blüht der Enzian

Worst-Album-Covers-HeinoSome months ago I took a poll among my Facebook friends to decide what was the worst album cover ever produced. This one for an album by Heino was the clear winner – or should that be the worst loser?

Heino was a very young German balladeer when his “Liebe Mutter” was released. That would have been about 1743 BC.

Since then he’s been through a few transformations, always carried forward by his big, rich voice. His most recent album, released this year, is – amazingly – folk metal.

I think it’s terrific. If I’d known about it earlier, it would have been my Album of the Year… OK, so that’s a mild exaggeration, but only in the sense that it’s a complete lie. Even so, I think this is rather jolly. Astound your friends by playing it for them and doing some moshing.

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on December 20, 2014, in Exploring New Things and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. All this time I had no idea that was a dude on the cover.

  2. I don’t see what’s so bad about that album cover, it’s a guy giving roses (that never fades!) to his beloved mother, right? The glasses might be a bit frightening, but he’s dressed nicely, his hair is combed neatly. Are people making fun of the way he looks?

    I’m laughing a little when I hear the song though 😛

  3. ChristopherMammal

    It’s the total schmaltz and cheesiness of the cover that makes people laugh.

Leave a Reply

