Mammal’s Best of 2014: Day 8

Titlepic

As I’ve mentioned to the other Metal State writers, I’m already planning a short article for the end of January or thereabouts on Overlooked Gems of 2014. Although I’m happy with my lists so far, I’ve seen other lists that include albums I want to know better. In addition, there have been a couple of solid releases in the short time since I started posting my Best Of.

When it comes to my Very Best Of, however – including today’s posts – I wouldn’t change or add anything. I’ve done enough of that already while I was sorting out my favourites.

 

Magazine of 2014

FA“Foreign Affairs” is as unbiased as I’d hope a magazine published in any country might be. It’s an American title but neither overtly pro-American nor pointedly anti-American. It strives to be impartial in its analyses. Nor is it just about American policy. It looks in some depth at relations between any countries currently in the news or likely to be in the near future.

It’s always worth reading other sources to get a rounded picture of events and situations. For me, “Foreign Affairs” is my go-to starting platform.

 

 

Countdown: Metal Albums

9. Aeon Zen – Ephemera
(UK, Progressive Metal)

 

8. Voyager – V
(Australia, Melodic Metal)

 

7. Eluveitie – Origins
(Switzerland, Folk Death Metal)

 

Countdown: Progressive Rock Albums

3. Kaipa – Sattyg
(Sweden, Symphonic Progressive Rock)

 

Countdown: Jazz & Jazz-Related Albums

3. Masal – Viens des Quatre Vents
(France, Jazz-Prog Fusion)

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on December 17, 2014, in Best of 2014 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Both Aeon Zen (oh the cuteness!) and Voyager are such fun metal bands, I’ve read so many good things about Voyager’s live shows, unfortunately I missed the opportunity I had of seeing them live. Good to see them placed so high on your list. It’s getting close to the top five, I wonder what’s there….

    Now I’m going to read some Foreign Affairs, thanks for the tip!

  2. ChristopherMammal

    Now you’ve got me wondering what my top five will be. Where did I put my list….

  3. Nice seeing Eluveitie so high up!!! Damn fine record. And I love that Aeon Zen video.

Leave a Reply

