Mammal’s Best of 2014: Day 5

Titlepic

It seems that barely a day goes by when I don’t say, “I had a hell of a job cutting my lists down. If I missed some really good stuff, please feel welcome to tell me.”

I would probably have to say the same thing if I kept lists of the best soccer matches of the year. That would take up an awful lot of time, so I’m glad I don’t watch soccer.

Drama Series of 2014

katherynbig

Four series this year have been totally absorbing. I must mention all of them: House of Cards; Vikings; Fargo; Homeland. For an illustration to go with this selection, it has to be Mrs. Main Viking. I love long ships. She can ride in mine and feed me seasickness pills.

Countdown: Metal Albums

18. Electric Wizard – Time To Die
(UK, Stoner Doom Metal)

 

 

17. stOrk – Broken Pieces
(USA, Progressive Metal)

 

 

16. Infestum – Monuments Of Exalted
(Belarus, Progressive Black Metal)

 

 

Countdown: Progressive Rock Albums

6. RPWL – Wanted
(Germany, Neo-Progressive Rock)

 

 

Countdown: Jazz & Jazz-Related Albums

6. Bohren & Der Club of Gore – Piano Nights
(Germany, Ambient Jazz)

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on December 12, 2014, in Best of 2014 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I like RPWL’s video, it’s neat. Is their band name an acronym for something?

  2. ChristopherMammal

    They used the initials of the founder members: Risettion, Postl, Wallner, Lang. The vocalist, Yogi Lang, has done some good solo albums. Here’s the RPWL song I like the most. It was recorded in 2008.

Leave a Reply

