Mammal’s Best of 2014: Day 4

Titlepic

A little grey fellow from Arcturus strolled in and asked how easy it was to compile my “Best Of” lists. “Weren’t you listening on day 1, 2 or 3?” I said.  “I had a hell of a job cutting my lists down to my Top 30 Metal, Top 40 Prog and Top 20 Jazz albums. If I seem to have missed some really good stuff, please feel welcome to tell me. Please don’t berate me. Your top album may be lower down on my list, or maybe I simply haven’t heard it. Hundreds of albums are released every month in the online universe of music.”

He borrowed a couple of Iron Maiden CDs and went home to show the people on his planet what “music” is. The only “music” they know is that “doo-dee-da-doo-dah” from “ET”.

Documentary Series of 2014

NGC_CosmosASpacetimeOdyssey_Hero (jpg670x340)

“Cosmos: A SpaceTime Odyssey” was as worthy a tribute to Carl Sagan’s 1980 “Cosmos” as I could have wished for. The new series obviously covers a lot of new science territory that hadn’t been explored in 1980. It does so with beauty, grace and frequent nods to Sagan’s series. Astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson, a protégé of Sagan, is the perfect presenter for the series, a man renowned in his own right in cosmology and for popularising science. Prof. Neil is also my presenter of the year.

 

Countdown: Metal Albums

21. Vintersorg – Naturbål
(Sweden, Folk Black Metal)

 

20. Insomnium – Shadows of the Dying Sun
(Finland, Melodic Death Metal)

 

19. Black Label Society – Catacombs of the Black Vatican
(USA, Sludge Metal)

 

Countdown: Progressive Rock Albums

7. Karmamoi – Odd Trip
(Italy, Crossover Progressive Rock)

 

Countdown: Jazz & Jazz-Related Albums

7. Cindy Bradley – Bliss
(USA, Funk Jazz)

 

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on December 11, 2014, in Best of 2014 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Insomnium! Love it!

  2. ChristopherMammal

    I *know* that when you other Metal State guys post your best of the year, I’m going to say, “Bloody hell, how could I have missed that one?”

Leave a Reply

