Mammal’s Best of 2014: Day 3

Titlepic

As I was telling Vladimir Putin this morning and as I’m telling everyone else again, I had a hell of a job cutting my lists down to my Top 30 Metal, Top 40 Prog and Top 20 Jazz albums. If I seem to have missed some really good stuff, please feel welcome to tell me. Please don’t berate me. Your top album may be lower down on my list, or maybe I simply haven’t heard it. Hundreds of albums are released every month in the online universe of music.

Movie of 2014

life_of_pi

“Life of Pi” was released in 2012 but I saw it only in 2014. That counts, right? It’s an extraordinary movie about five tigers sharing the role of one tiger named Richard Parker. He survives an ordeal at sea in spite of numerous surreal obstacles. I think there were people in the movie too but I couldn’t stop admiring Richard Parker.

It’s difficult to remember how many movies I’ve watched this year,  although it could be as many as three. I outgrew comic book superheroes when I was eleven.

 

Countdown: Metal Albums

24. Fallujah – The Flesh Prevails
(USA, Progressive Death Metal)

 

23. Khepri – Ascension
(UK, Oriental Progressive Metal)

 

22. Divine Chaos — A New Dawn in the Age of War
(UK, Death/Thrash Metal)

 

Countdown: Progressive Rock Albums

8. Crepuscule – Virr
(Germany, Progressive Rock)

 

Countdown: Jazz & Jazz-Related Albums

8. Diana Krall – Wallflower
(Canada, Mainstream Jazz)

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on December 10, 2014, in Best of 2014 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Oh, that’s a surprise. I was sure Fallujah would end up in your top 5.

  2. ChristopherMammal

    It just goes to show how much top-class metal there’s been this year.

  3. I really wanted to like that Fallujah record, but holy fuck is it loud. It would have made my toplist if they just didn’t overload the recording. Shame, damn good songwriting on it.

  4. ChristopherMammal

    I expected it would rank higher on my list than it did.

Leave a Reply

