Mammal’s Best of 2014

Titlepic

This year has brought forth a veritable deluge of good albums in numerous genres and styles. I had a hell of a job cutting my lists down to my Top 30 Metal, Top 40 Prog and Top 20 Jazz albums. If I seem to have missed some really good stuff, please feel welcome to tell me. Please don’t berate me. Your top album may be lower down on my list, or maybe I simply haven’t heard it. Hundreds of albums are released every month in the online universe of music.

I’m not going to explain why any album ended up where it did in my selections. When we review albums we try to identify and describe the qualities that could tempt you to try them. Choosing my personal favourites is a different matter entirely. It goes beyond the musical excellence of any album. It probes deeply into the emotional connections I make with the music. Those connections are unique in every one of us. I do hope, however, that some of my choices will feed your brain with zillions of happy bubbles.

Before we get to the music, I’d also love to share some my other favourite things.

Actress of 2014

Elisabeth+Harnois

Elisabeth Harnois, forensics wotnot in “CSI”. She may not have the commanding presence or complete skills of Meryl Streep or Judy Dench. That doesn’t matter to me. I think she’s the cutest, most beautiful and sexiest thing on TV, and she’s the main reason I watch “CSI”.

 

Countdown: Metal Albums

  1. Steignyr – Tales of a Forgotten Hero
    (Spain, Folk Metal)

 

  1. Space Riders – D:REI
    (Germany, Psychedelic Stoner Metal)

 

  1. Down Royale – Sway
    (Australia, Metalcore)

 

Countdown: Progressive Rock Albums

  1. Majestic – Epsilon 2
    (USA, Neo-Progressive Rock)

 

Countdown: Jazz & Jazz-Related Albums

  1. Tony Bennett & Lady Gaga – Cheek to Cheek
    (USA, Retro Jazz)

 

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on December 8, 2014, in Best of 2014 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Cool to see Down Royale on the list; boys from Down Under on the up and coming list.

  2. Fun! I like how you mixed the genre-countdowns into one post. Space Riders is nice, and I’ve forgotten about Down Royale even though we reviewed that one, thanks for the reminder, it’s a great album. Tony & Lady G is a wonderful, relaxing listen.

Leave a Reply

