Sorry, Opeth!

When we Metal State reviewers gave the round table treatment to Opeth’s “Pale Communion” earlier this year I was less than flattering about the album. I said it wasn’t hard enough to be good metal or inventive enough to be good prog.

It isn’t metal. It is, however, damn fine heavy prog rock. That is what Opeth intended it to be, I believe, and that’s what it became.

Opeth and their industry associates haven’t said anything about the review. Nor have my fellow reviewers or any Opeth fans. It’s my conscience that’s been smacking me on both earholes.

I did update my comments and rating of the album in our published review, but such things tend to go unnoticed. If we’re wrong — not necessarily when we’re told we’re wrong but when we know it deep inside ourselves — we should retract and correct. It gives me the greatest of pleasure to concede how very wrong I was about “Pale Communion”. The more I listen to it, the more I know it’s one of the best prog albums of the year.

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on December 1, 2014, in Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. “There is no right or wrong apart from what you decide. Who you chose to defend deserves to be defended simply because you chose them. You are the Fire Lord. What you chose, by definition, is right.”

    I’m glad you gave it enough time for it to move your opinion to the other side, I haven’t done so yet. Maybe in the future.

  2. ChristopherMammal

    If life were only that simple, eh?

  3. I have wished to change a few reviews here and there…namely to Arch Enemy. I always seem to rate them on the high side. I am glad you like the proggy Opeth. I rather enjoy it too.

  1. Pingback: Reggie’s Top 15 Albums of 2014 | A Metal State of Mind

Leave a Reply

