Mammal’s 21-Year Hit Parade: 2013, #10 – #6

MetalCatI haven’t referred to my list of top albums of 2013 that I posted on Metal State at the end of last year. I don’t need to because I know it’s markedly different to my current sets of year-by-year hit parades. This series has featured my favourite songs, not albums. It hasn’t included non-metal, whereas my top albums list did.

I set another condition for myself at the start of this exercise, which has been a wonderfully enjoyable game. To spread the pleasure among the artists who’ve given me so much pleasure over the years, I chose only one song per year per artist. There too I’ve been arbitrary at times. There are albums so good that just about any song would be a contender for top song by that artist.

No doubt my lists would look different if I re-did them in a year’s time. Music shapes itself to our moods.

 

2013, #10: Alter Bridge – Addicted to Pain

Album: Fortress
Country: USA
Genre: Alternative Metal

 

2013, #9: Avatarium – Boneflower

Album: Avatarium
Country: Sweden
Genre: Doom Metal

 

2013, #8: Diabolical – Metamorphosis

Album: Neogenesis
Country: Sweden
Genre: Technical Death Metal

 

2013, #7: Haken – Pareidolia

Album: The Mountain
Country: UK
Genre: Progressive Metal

 

2013, #6: TesseracT – Of Matter – Retrospect

Album: Altered State
Country: UK
Genre: Progressive Djent Metal

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on November 20, 2014, in Mammal's 21-Year Hit Parade, News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

