Mammal’s 21-Year Hit Parade: 2011, #20 – #17

MetalCat

Rare photograph of a New Zealand alligator playing the Belgian violin.

Yet again today I encountered some of the weird prejudices that prevail in the world of popular music, as in FM radio and the current Top 20 Best-Marketed Hits of the Week.

The young fellow I spoke to in a store was surprised that someone of my age, which is 64, would listen to modern music at all [Prejudice 1]. He was even more surprised that I would listen to something as weird as metal [Prejudice 2]. When I mentioned that I would be posting some of my favourite music from Sweden, Belgium and New Zealand, he exclaimed: “Oh, well, I wouldn’t listen to it anyway. I don’t listen to anything unless it’s from England or America because I can’t understand the words [Prejudice 3].”

I could add [Ignorance 1] but maybe they don’t speak English in New Zealand. Isn’t it a region in Mongolia?

 

2011, #20: Vintersorg – Palissader

Album: Jordpuls
Country: Sweden
Genre: Folk Black Metal

 

2011, #19: Opeth – Haxprocess

Album: Heritage
Country: Sweden
Genre: Progressive Death Metal

 

2011, #18: Epysode – One Chance

Album: Obsessions
Country: Belgium
Genre: Progressive Metal

 

2011, #17: Alpine Fault – Above The Storm

Album: Iraena’s Ashes
Country: New Zealand
Genre: Symphonic Metal

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on November 3, 2014, in Mammal's 21-Year Hit Parade and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

