Reggie’s Essential 25 Favorite Instrumentals #4 & #3

bc_rich_widow_wmd_bass_top_imageI love the power of a good instrumental song.  Sometimes they can be energizing or even relaxing depending on the band’s intent with the song.  Some bands use an instrumental song to display a different, sometimes softer side.  And, sometimes an instrumental is a collection of left over riffs and drum parts that didn’t make the final cut.  Or, perhaps they just couldn’t find the words to go with the music.  However they are composed, the instrumental song is a track I look for and hope to find on any album; though there are some bands where it’s almost an expectation.  This list is 25 word-less songs that I find essential to my music library.  I wouldn’t sweat over the exact order, but yeah the ones at or near the top of this list are definitely my favorites.  I know there are many more instrumental songs out there, but these are mine…so to speak.  This list is also limited to only three per band and only one band made this list three times.  Enjoy!

4.  Circles Without Division – Sleepers Awake

First off, this is an amazing album; forever cemented as my #1 album of 2013. Circles Without Division is an excellent song that is among of the shorter songs on Transcension.  It’s a bit spacey at times and encompasses varying tempos like any good progressive metal band should.  Below is a clip of the full album.  The song of focus here is track #7 though I highly recommend listening to the whole experience if you haven’t had a chance to check out Sleepers Awake.

3.  Decoherence – Insomnium

This is a really dark somber kind of a song; I think it’s beautiful especially from a melodic death metal band like Insomnium.  Decoherence always calms me no matter what kind of mood I am in and I also use this for my morning alarm clock.  The image selected for this video clip suits the song perfectly.  The song appears on the album One For Sorrow released in 2011.

About Reggie

Just a dude writing a heavy metal blog and always on the prowl for a cool metal show. I am also a family man...first and foremost!

Posted on October 14, 2014, in Metal Lists, Reggie's Top 25 Instrumentals. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

