Roundtable Review: Haze – Clouds Surround And Breathe

ArtWork!Label: Frail Abuse Records

Release Date:  10 August 2014

Songs:  9 tracks                  Length: 45 minutes

Genre:  Post rock/core

Studio Albums: This is their debut

Location:  UK

Recommended for fans of: God Is An Astronaut, Architects, Echoes

 

 

WarpRider – Post-rock has been a tough genre for me to get into. I always think of these artists to be too artistic for their own good. To my ears it ends up sounding disorganized. It’s sort of like looking at artwork that the world thinks is brilliant, but I stand there not getting it. I think that is just my mind not being to process these sounds that sometimes do not seem to flow well together. The weakest point of this album being the vocal style. It’s mostly just sick and takes away from the musicianship that shines when the vocalist is not signing. As an instrumental album, I would listen again. 2.0

live shotIrmelinis – I’m still sitting high up on my post-rock cloud after going to ArcTanGent festival last month to learn more about a style of music I wasn’t familiar with. It worked extremely well, and might be one of the reasons I’m now able to fully enjoy Haze’s post-rock-core. The contrast between the hard, “core” vocals and the beautifully flowing music creates an exciting, but challenging listen. The moody and abstract music is living its own life in the background, filled with soft, impressive guitar work combined with raw sounding percussion. These odd, layered combinations of hard/soft and desolate/uplifting is what makes this album so rewarding to listen to. For some it might be too much with the long songs and drawn out outros, but it also gives the music a sense of relaxing stability, it doesn’t need to hurry along and vocals are sparsely used. Recommended songs: Upheaval, Loomer, Like Glass. 4.5

ChristopherMammal – Well, I had to love this, didn’t I? The abstractions of math rock resonate with the deviant parts of my brain. Post hardcore, with its emphasis on mood and emotion, sets  up sympathetic vibrations in the many bits of me that are woven from strings and wire. Put  those two musical forms together as post mathcore and you have a Mammal magnet. Haze’s  new album is deeply engaging, not least for its full exploitation of shade and light for variation,  and its use of piano and forte for contrast (in the purely musical sense, not in the tinkly ivory keys sense). The music swells and fills all of my ears when it’s laying down layers of rich sound, then contracts to almost minimalist when there’s virtually nothing but an acoustic guitar against a shimmering ambient background. The whole album is a lovely meal. 4.2

Our ratings are done on a scale of 1-5 with a 1 being an abysmal album, a 2.5 being a halfway point (an O.K. album), and a 5 being outstanding.

A Metal State of Mind Score – 3,5 out of 5 (based on three ratings)

 

About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on October 6, 2014, in Album Reviews, Roundtable Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

