Roundtable Review: Rise of the Northstar – Welcame

WELCAMEartLabel:  Repression Records

Release Date:  22 Sep 2014

Songs:   11

Length:  50 Minutes

Genre:  Hardcore/Thrash

Studio Albums:   This is their debut album

Location:  France

WarpRider – I like the New York style hardcore grooves; this is a pit-inducing album full of angst ready to tear the walls down of your nearest venue.  For fans of Sick of it All and Biohazard, this is right up your alley.  Just don’t take the lyrical content too seriously, they are hard to hear and I am not sure if these French dudes are getting it quite right.  But, I like the music.  3.0 

RiffRaff – I enjoy me some old-school NYHC-style hardcore from time to time; SoiA, Pro-Pain, Madball are all great to pop in when I need some punchy tough guy music.  I also enjoy me some thrash, a lot.  Rise of the Northstar (with a name I could only hope is a reference to the film Fist of the Northstar, that flick was bad-fuckin-ass) blends the two styles nicely with a heavier focus on the hardcore elements.  Songs are punky and energetic as well as easy to get into.  However, things at times are a bit too simple, especially when I have plenty of other hardcore records I can spin and this doesn’t really inspire me to pop it in over some random Madball record.  Also, the vocalist should just sing in his mother tongue, French, and add a bit of flavor to the music (his pronunciation is spotty at best).  If you are hankering for some good oldschool hardcore then RotNS may be up your alley, but if you’re not really into the hardcore thing, this really won’t change your mind.  3.0

Irmelinis – The only thing I like about this album (besides the amusing cover art and promo photos) is when they sound like Rage Against The Machine; a touch of bad ass attitude, some rapping, and funky riffs. Unfortunately it’s overshadowed by the horrible vocals with really bad pronunciation (sing in your own language, guys), so much that I can barely listen to it. Musically it’s alright, but overall this could have been much better. 1.5

ChristopherMammal – I don’t want to damn with faint praise. Nor do I want to seem either condescending or pig-ignorant. If you enjoy this type of hardcore, which is intentionally coarse and feels something like metalshop sandpaper, you can add a point to my rating of the album and say, “Yah, yah, Mammal, get educated on styles of metal you don’t comprehend.” The band is good and their music is cool enough for me to enjoy all of it, but it doesn’t grab me very tightly. 3.0

A Metal State of Mind Score – 2.6 out of 5 

About Reggie

Just a dude writing a heavy metal blog and always on the prowl for a cool metal show. I am also a family man...first and foremost!

Posted on September 12, 2014, in Album Reviews, Roundtable Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. A video filled with every possible cliche for that kind fo music. So over the top that it is really enjoyable:-) But actually a good song. I like Terror and love Biohazard so yeah I like this as well.

Leave a Reply

