Mammal’s 21-Year Hit Parade: 2003 / #12 – #10

MetalCatAlthough I love almost every style of metal, not much core music or industrial metal has made it into my annual hit parades. It has to compete against my usually preferred variations of melodic, progressive, folk, symphonic and atmospheric metal, often built on black, death or doom metal

None the less, when good ‘core or factory music hits my ears, it wins my heart.

 

2003, #12: Hatebreed – This Is Now

Album: The Rise of Brutality
Country: USA
Genre: Hardcore

 

2003, #11: KMFDM – Jihad

Album: WWIII
Country: Germany
Genre: Industrial Metal

 

2003, #10: Elis – Do You Believe

Album: God’s Silence, Devil’s Temptation
Country: Liechtenstein
Genre: Gothic Metal

 

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on September 9, 2014, in Mammal's 21-Year Hit Parade and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. When it comes to Gothic Metal and the Power And Prog Metal of the 90s I’m mostly out. Altogether it’s just not for me.
    I have this Hatebreed record since a long time and also it begins to get a bit boring listening to the entire thing (their songwriting isn’t really varied) some songs always make it to the jogging mix alongside with some Terror, Sick Of It All, Have Heart and Biohazard.
    I’m not sure if I will ever get really deep into Industrial, also I really like some Ministry or Foetus songs. This KMFDM song sounds quite good. A good example for my selective approach to Industrial would be Pigface. I stumbled over this song on YouTube, instantly thought of it as absolutely brilliant and needed to be a three CD Best of, of which I ended up really liking just one other song. Also I appreciated their intention to make unconventional music.

  2. “to buy” not “to be”. No idea how I would look like as a CD set:-)

Leave a Reply

