Roundtable Album Review: Neverworld – Visions of Another World

Neverworld CoverLabel: Dream Demon Recordings

Release Date: 21 August 2014

Songs: 9

Length: 59 minutes

Genre: Power Metal

Studio Albums: Welcome to… (EP, 2010)

Location: UK

 

 

 

WarpRider – I like the emphasis on power metal with a gritty edge to it that reminds me a bit of Nevermore… at least in the vocal style. The symphonic touches are a nice backdrop to a largely headbanging cadence. Overall, “Visions of Another World” is both melodic and heavy, two combinations a band can’t go wrong with. 3.0

 

RiffRaff – Putting aside I absolutely can’t stand Nightwish-y vocals, this record was one boring slog for me. It’s not bad (I kind of wish it was, so I’d have something clever to write), it’s just “meh” and uninspiring. I guess the dual male/female vocals are a nice touch and save it from being a total waste of an hour. But this power metal lacks the cheese factor I like and rarely caught me with some sharp hooks. 1.5

 

Irmelinis – When I saw the album cover I wondered if the music would sound like it’s created in Paint as well. It’s not that far off. This is average power-prog, with a couple of great choruses, diverse vocal delivery and a focused sound, but also boring, repetitive drums and uninspired guitar work. The best thing about it is the relaxed atmosphere. It’s nothing I’d buy and listen to. 2.0

 

ChristopherMammal – The press kit that arrived with this album recommends it to fans of Savatage, Helloween and Judas Priest. I’d endorse that, with the proviso that we’re talking about the earlier JP albums. Neverworld fluidly presents all the right ingredients for full-flavoured epic, heavy power metal. There is good variety in the compositions and the pace of the various tracks. The symphonic backing adds lustre to the thumping old-school heavy metal sound. Ben Colton’s voice and vocal style are exactly suited to the lyrical themes. For me, the inclusion of guest female vocalist Christina Gajny is also a plus. Overall, the album is lively, interesting and very melodious. 3.8

A Metal State of Mind Score – 2.6 out of 5

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on September 2, 2014, in News, Roundtable Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

