Videos of the Week: Code Orange and Tomahawk

Well, I’m a bit late with this post, but better late than never 🙂

First up check out the new video from Code Orange (previously known as Code Orange Kids).  What really gets me about this video is besides the unsettling themes and even more disquieting grungy doom metal accompanying is the choice to use a washed out, Super 8 VHS aesthetic.  It really blends well with the music and makes the video much more freaky.  Going by the released singles and this video, Code Orange’s upcoming record, I am King (out Sept. 2nd, 2014 via Deathwish Records), is sounding to be a smashing and very unique record.  We’ll have more on that for you in the near future 🙂

 

And to counterbalance that bit of disturbing art, here’s Mike Patton as a Crank Yankers puppet.  Need I say more why this is awesome?  South Paw comes off Tomahawk’s 2013 record Oddfellows.  Enjoy!!! Peace Love and Metal!!!!

About RiffRaff

Just takin' it easy for all you sinners.

Posted on August 18, 2014, in Video of the Week and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Tomahawk really disappointed me with Oddfellows. Mike Patton is surely a true genius, but in my opinion he always needs capable people around him giving him the right condition to present it. I just heard through the entire Faith No More discography a view days ago and it always strikes me how bad Album Of The Year is, grrrhh:-)
    I know the first record of Code Orange Kids and have to say that this single surprises me quite a bit: That’s a change in sound!

    • Ya, I agree on Oddfellows. I expected more out of it given I really enjoyed their past releases. Luckily this video is of one of the songs on the record I really enjoyed. I also agree on Album of the Year, easily the weakest of FNM’s catalog. Still Mike Patton, as always, sounds great on the record, so at least there’s that.

      We have a review of the new Code Orange in the works, and let me tell you, it is a record to keep your ears out for 🙂

Leave a Reply

