Round Table Review: The Flesh Prevails by Fallujah

fallujah-thefleshprevails-620x619Album Review: Fallujah – The Flesh Prevails

Label: Unique Leader Records

Release Date: July 22nd, 2014

Songs: 9

Length: 41:32

Genre: Progressive Death Metal

Studio Albums: Leper Colony (EP – 2009), The Harvest Wombs (2011), Nomadic (EP – 2013)

Location: CA, USA

WarpRider – If it were not for everyone else talking about this album, I doubt I would have taken the time to listen. I can’t explain why, but I am glad it was thrust upon me at a time when I desperately needed new solid death metal to listen to. One of the first things that stands out to me are some of the influences I hear with Death. Fallujah is fierce and technical; two components that make them stand out amongst their peers. “The Flesh Prevails” is an excellent mix of all things brutal combined with outstanding instrumentals such as ‘Chemical Cave.’ In the end, the album shows definite end-of-year list potential. 4.5

 

RiffRaff – Things I like, when the insane amount of hype around a record pays off.  Fallujah provide a much-needed injection of creativity in prog metal scene.  Twisting and turning songs, technicality not for the sake of being the most technical, catchy riffs, brutality that feels bona fide, great use of ambient music, etc.  Things I don’t like, compressed production which nearly kills an outstanding record.  Nearly.  This record could have been so much more if the layers of ambient music, soaring guitar solos, break neck drumming were given some breathing room to really fill my room with reverberating sound.  Fortunately, the songwriting is so strong that it overcomes the shitty production but an album I would have scored a full 5 based on the songwriting and performances alone looses a full point for suffocating the glorious music.  If you can overlook the bad production, and are hankering for some quality proggy death metal, go get this album now. 4.0

 

Irmelinis – Fallujah follows up their excellent EP from last year with an equally good full length and the hype has been strong around this one. The songs are nicely balanced to appeal to both blast beat fans as well as listeners who like a more progressive sound, including an abundance of guitars. The guitar work is expertly executed, although too much of a good thing can also become a bit disturbing; it never seems to take a break. This, together with the album’s over-loud mastering levels, can make it an exhausting listen. However, if those things don’t bother you, “The Flesh Prevails” will provide you with a great experience of technical, complex, brutal and spacey music. A plus for incredibly beautiful album art. 3.75

 

ChristopherMammal – I love it when a new album makes me say to my special cat, “Holy fuck, Tiny Tiny Cakey Kitten.” I then proceed to tell him it’s an album that will most definitely be a hot candidate on my list of Top Albums of 2014. He blinks knowingly when I tell him that the mourning period for the old Opeth can end because Fallujah delivers what Opeth could have become if they hadn’t softened so much. The compositions, the performances, the track planning, everything about this album is simply grand. In cat language, “simply grand” translates as “fucking amazing.” 5.0

 

A Metal State of Mind Score – 4.3 out of 5

About RiffRaff

Just takin' it easy for all you sinners.

Posted on August 11, 2014, in Album Reviews, Roundtable Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I agree with Christipher. I gave it 10 out of 10 in my review as well. Perfection. It’s neck and neck with Melana Chasmata on my recird of the year list!

  1. Pingback: Reggie’s Top 15 Albums of 2014 | A Metal State of Mind

  2. Pingback: RoundTable Roundup – Metal State’s Top 15 of 2014! | A Metal State of Mind

Leave a Reply

