Mammal’s 21-Year Hit Parade: 1996 / #6 and #5

MetalCatIt’s confession time again. I know you all love me for my youthful grace, charm and good looks. Now you can love me even more for my honesty.

There are some bands in my hit parade that I didn’t know until somewhat later. Of course I knew Metallica – who didn’t? – in 1996, but I’d never heard of Dimmu Borgir.

Like many of you, I’ve grown to love a great number of bands by working through their discographies. That isn’t cheating. I would put Beethoven top of my hit parade for the early 19th century, and I didn’t know his music at that time either.

 

1996, #6: Dimmu Borgir – Stormblåst

Album: Stormblåst
Country: Norway
Genre: Symphonic Black Metal

 

1996, #5: Metallica – Until It Sleeps

Album: Load
Country: USA
Genre: Thrash Metal

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on July 23, 2014, in Mammal's 21-Year Hit Parade and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

