Mammal’s 21-Year Hit Parade: 1995 / #6 and #5

MetalCatDark Metal Cat says I should post only the intro to my hit parade stuff on the home page and put the songs on a turn-page so that (a) I don’t use up the first three screens of the home page and (b) he can be on the home page.

I had 1995’s #10 and #9 yesterday. I am not skipping #8 and #7. I did them last week by mistake because of solar flares and asteroid belts and the Oort Cloud and such phenomena.

 

1995, #6: Rammstein – Wollt Ihr Das Bett In Flammen

Album: Herzeleid
Country: Germany
Genre: Industrial Metal

 

1995, #5: Ozzy Osbourne – Perry Mason

Album: Ozzmosis
Country: UK
Genre: Heavy Metal

 

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on July 16, 2014, in Mammal's 21-Year Hit Parade and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I loved Rammstein when I first heard them on the soundtrack to Lynch’s “Lost Highway”. That crunchy twin rhythm and Sturm und Drang Teutonic vocal kicked me in the nuts and when the DJs at local goth/metal/industrial events and club nights fired them up the floorboards always rattled. I found out later that Rammstein took a lot of cues from earlier industrial and Neue Deutsche Harte bands like Oomph!, Die Krupps and Laibach and I’ve been a fan of that sound ever since. Metalrivet crossover is A Very Good Thing, although you don’t hear it much these days.

  2. ChristopherMammal

    You make some very good points, ~xtian. Modern industrial metal tends to be smoother, slicker and much less ball-kicking than the 1990s style. A lot of it sounds like prog metal or — aargh — techno.

Leave a Reply

