Video of the Week: Inanimate Existence – The Rune of Destruction

Technical brutal death metal as an art form of great beauty. That’s the impression left with me after playing this video from Inanimate Existence’s A Never-Ending Cycle of Atonement, released last month. When I have the full album I have no doubt I’ll be playing it over and over. These Californians construct music of considerable complexity and depth without straying from the harsh theme and structure of tech death.

This video alone has already used up half the electrons in my computer.

The band has releasedĀ one previous album, Liberation Through Hearing in 2012.

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on July 11, 2014, in Video of the Week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. A very good song. Always nice when technique meets quality songwriting. I just read a good review of “A Never-Ending Cycle of Atonement” and saw a magazine add with the beautiful artwork. Now I put it on my to buy list.

Leave a Reply

