Posted on July 10, 2014, in Album Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. One can notice how inspiring the the music of Panopticon is to you and your review definitely awakens the want (a German phrasing) to listen to it. Also very fitting quote.
    I have to confess that I only read one H.P. Lovecraft novel which was “The Shadow over Innsmouth” and I have to say it didn’t grab me.

    • Besides Lovecraft’s racism

    • It is definitely worth checking out. As well as the amazing album Kentucky if you haven’t heard it yet. They just released a new single off the new record yesterday, so enjoy. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9SIbKRZFmYU

      And for many Lovecraft is love/hate type of thing. If you aren’t into the old turn of the century American literary style, you probably won’t like much of his works. Me, I absolutely love me some Lovecraft, and Innsmouth is one of my favorites. Mountains of Madness is my favorite if you ever decided to give him another shot. And on his racism, he wasn’t anything above what was normal in society in his region during the time and it is never reflected in his stories.

      • Thanks for the link! I have to say that I have a general lack of knowledge when it comes to American Literature. Besides Jonathan Franzen’s “The Corrections”, Philip Roth’s “The Human Stain” and Truman Capote’s “In Cold Blood” it’s mostly American thrillers. So I can’t even decide if it’s a style thing. When I was fifteen, I bought a very cheap collection of 50 novels which subsumed a lot of European, especially English and Russian literature under the title “Classics Of World Literature”. So I’m at least accustomed to a slower pace and detailed way of story telling and indeed read some true classics (Dickens, Tolstoi, Dostojeski, Austen, George Eliot etc.).
        Sure you need to put them in context of their times, unless you want to skip a huge amount of (apart from that) great literature. It’s just not that he just believed in fairies and ghosts like Arthur Conan Doyle. That’s just funny:-)

Leave a Reply

