Mammal’s 21-Year Hit Parade: 1994 / #10 and #9

My, 1993 went by quickly. I have a feeling 1994 is also going to flash by in a week. This continues my personal hit parade. It is not a Metal State hit parade and I don’t claim these were the best songs of any year. They’re the ones I liked and still like.

1994, #10: Bolt Thrower – …For Victory

Album: …For Victory
Country: UK
Genre: Death Metal

 

1994, #9: Dream Theater – Space-Dye Vest

Album: Awake
Country: USA
Genre: Prog Metal

 

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on July 7, 2014, in Mammal's 21-Year Hit Parade and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Aah, Space-Dye Vest – a much-overlooked gem of the DT canon. Nothing like anything else they recorded, really. I’ve not kept up with Moore’s post-DT output – I don’t much care on the whole for ‘his’ era – things got more interesting for me when Sherinian joined – I like FII a lot. But I like this a lot too – probably my favourite track on Awake.

  2. I’m still not a big Dream Theater fan, but of the records I have of this band I like “Awake” the most. And Bolt Thrower is just always great fun for me to listen to. I just have “Those Once Loyal” but this surely will not stay that way:-)

  3. I think Kevin Moore was the best thing to ever happen to Dream Theater. Its just too bad they were the best thing that ever happened to him as well. Ive never been able to get into his other solo work. Maybe its because I always end up comparing it to Space-Dye Vest

Leave a Reply

