Mammal’s 21-Year Hit Parade: 1993 / #8 and #7

Continuing my personal tribute to metal from the last 21 years, 1993-2013.

1993, #8: Voivod – Moonbeam Rider

Album: The Outer Limits
Country: USA
Genre: Prog Metal

 

1993, #7: Rush – Nobody’s Hero

Album: Counterparts
Country: Canada
Genre: Prog Metal

 

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on July 1, 2014, in Mammal's 21-Year Hit Parade and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. The Voivod song is once again blocked in Germany by the goddamn GEMA. But the Rush song is beautiful, interesting lyrics as well. I’m a bit behind with discovering Rush. I bought “Moving Pictures”a view years ago, which I remember as a great album. And about a year ago I bouht “Time Machines”, which I just listened to once. Sometimes you buy a record and actually forget that you bought it (at least if move a lot as well as buy a lot of records). But I just found “Time Machines” in the moving box with “P” to “R” and put it in the player:-)

  2. Was this post inspired by Canada Day? HAPPY CANADA DAY! Damn I love both these bands. Would have loved to see the Presto tour, with Voivod opening.

    Nobody’s Hero is such an emotional song to me. Puts me right back in the 90’s. There’s a reference there to the Paul Bernardo killings. Neil Peart was friends with Kristen French’s family I believe.

    “I didn’t know the girl, but I knew her family
    All their lives were shattered in a nightmare of brutality
    They try to carry on, try to bear the agony
    Try to hold some faith in the goodness of humanity
    As the years went by, we drifted apart
    When I heard that she was gone
    I felt a shadow cross my heart”

  3. ChristopherMammal

    No, it wasn’t inspired by Canada Day, but I’m glad Rush happened to be on my list where they were today. Their lyrics are all poetry.

Leave a Reply

