Mammal’s Merry Memories: Pink Floyd – Shine On You Crazy Diamond (1975)

Surely every metalhead knows or at least knows of Pink Floyd. This colossal British band dating back the 1960s has been a seminal influence for any number of top musicians, including the likes of Mikael Akerfeldt of Opeth, Steven Wilson of Porcupine Tree and Arjen Lucassen of Ayreon and other projects.

The Floydian influence extends well beyond metal. Modern progressive rock, psychedelic rock and space rock also bow often to Floyd.

Unless you own the 1975 album Wish You Were Here, the chances are that you haven’t heard “Shine On You Crazy Diamond” in its entirety. It’s my favourite Floyd composition. It was included on the original album as a nine-part suite split into two movements, one at the start and the other at the end of the album. “Best Of” collections and compilations usually include a shortened version. Splice the two original movements into one long piece, however, and you have one of the most beautiful prog rock symphonies imaginable.

Indulge yourself for about 26 minutes.

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on June 29, 2014, in Mammal's Merry Memories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. ChristopherMammal

    At your service, milady. I’m glad you’re also a lover of classy music. 🙂

  2. Maybe I will not love Pink Floyd as much as others, but it’s definitely very well crafted music and very interesting to discover. Which is what I’m doing at the moment, after I had he luck to buy the “Discovery Box” for a very cheap price. I started at ehm the beginning of the discography and the next one would be “Ummagumma”. Of course I know “Shine On Crazy Diamond” and yes, it is a great song.

  3. Fantastic song/suite. Do you know the Transatlantic version?

  4. ChristopherMammal

    Hey, Guls. Yes, I think I’ve got everything by Transatlantic (and Spock’s Beard, and some Neal Morse). I think this is a brilliant cover. Transatlantic also did a couple of good Genesis covers, if I remember correctly.

Leave a Reply

