Mammal’s Merry Memories: Ratt – Round and Round (1984)

Glam metal, hair metal, whatever you want to call it, had a relatively short life span. It came to the fore in the early 1980s. In the 1990s, the new West Coast sound of grunge stole huge chunks of the glam metal audience. Lavish hard rock and heavy metal played by long-haired people in strange clothing and make-up gave way to the stark, simpler, harder and more socially relevant bands headed by Nirvana.

However, fans of 1980s heavy metal and hard rock generally enjoyed this kind of music and many still do. I’m one who does. It’s jolly and bouncy.

Ratt was one the most successful glam metal bands in the USA during the ’80s. This song is probably their best-known. It’s from their third album, Out of the Cellar, which I still play.

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on June 15, 2014, in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I was a huge Ratt fan when this album came out. I had the vinyl, the cassette, and later the CD. I thought these guys were the coolest ever and I never got to see them live. Maybe someday on one of these 80s band tours, I will have a chance. For now, Ratt is part of my stockpile of fond music memories.

  2. Ratt is a cool band. Today I guess not so much people know who Ratt are here in Germany. But two or three years ago I checked out exactly this video after reading about them in a magazine. I bought Invasion Of Your Privacy and still enjoy it very much!
    Also it’s just fun to watch the videos of this era:-)

Leave a Reply

