Mammal’s Merry Memories: Whitesnake – Still of the Night (1987)

Whitesnake’s self-titled 1987 album remains one of the best hard rock albums I’ve ever heard, and “Still of the Night” from that album holds up for me as everything hard rock should be – great guitars, melodic interludes and mighty vocals. David Coverdale was an exceptional singer with a soaring range and perfect control.

The audio emphasis was on catchy, thoughtfully composed melody. The visual emphasis back then was on ridiculously big hair. I was in my late 30s by then and didn’t feel any need to grow my hair that long and tease it out to the size of a medium shrub.

By the way, the girl in the video is Tawny Kitaen, an actress who later became Mrs. Coverdale. Their hair was a match made in the most up-market jungle.

 

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on June 14, 2014, in Mammal's Merry Memories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You know what Mr. Mammal, as much as I liked looking at Ms. Kitaen when I was a kid, the thing that grabbed my attention from the video was Adrian playing the guitar with a violin bow. He’s barely touching the strings! For some reason that REALLY bugged me.

    And I hadn’t seen Jimmy Page do Dazed and Confused…yet.

  2. Fine song! Back then, I used to listen to this album as I went to bed.

  3. Amazed how good that still sounds 🙂 I never really got into Whitesnake and this is probably the first time I’ve actually listened to this song since MTV back in the ’80s. The production style dates it somewhat but fails to obscure the quality of the songwriting.

Leave a Reply

