Roundtable Review: Ifing – Against This Weald

a1086571171_10Label: Blood Music

Release Date:  May 6, 2014

Length: 36 minutes, 3 tracks

Genre:  Atmospheric/pagan black metal

Studio Albums: This is their debut

Location:  Michigan, USA

For fans of: Moonsorrow, Opeth, Summoning, Windir, Bathory, Caladan Brood

.

WarpRider – Ah black metal; the tough sell.  What I appreciate about Ifing’s songs are breaks in extreme instrumentation. I have to say I appreciate the slower melodic elements vs. the sheer speed especially in The Stream.  Overall, it’s one of a small handful of black metal bands I can dive into and enjoy.  Perhaps it’s the pagan elements that gives the epic three-song album a bit of diversity and opens that door just a little bit more.  3.0

Irmelinis – Already from the first time I heard one of Ifing’s songs I knew their album would be a stand out release in this year. The beautiful music they create is organic and smooth, building on contrasts between cold, ravenous black metal and mournful, warm keyboards with dark, low range vocals. The drums add a tranquil, spiritual touch that I really like and the atmosphere is just as mighty as it is contemplative. Time goes fast while having fun, and this epic goodness is over way too quickly. 4.0

ChristopherMammal – Ifing snared me with their four-minute, half-Wagner and half-Mussorgsky instrumental overture. From there the music got even better. When the music steered into a serene electric guitar solo backed by acoustic rhythm guitar, then flowed into a vaulted riff and Medieval whistle, I’d already become an addict. This is some of the best atmospheric, epic, folksy black metal I’ve heard, period. The very long closing track is a symphony in its own right. Would you like to see the photograph of my goose bumps? Full-length album, please. 4.0

A Metal State of Mind Score – 3,6 out of 5 (based on three ratings)

Our ratings are done on a scale of 1-5 with a 1 being an abysmal album, a 2.5 being a halfway point (an O.K. album), and a 5 being outstanding. 

 

Full Album Stream: 

https://blood-music.bandcamp.com/album/against-this-weald

https://www.facebook.com/Ifing.Official

About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on June 2, 2014, in Album Reviews, Roundtable Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Sounds truly epic!

  2. Kinda kicking myself for not getting in on this review when I had the chance. Freaking great music that is currently filling that heavy hankering for atmospheric black metal (or as I’ve been calling it lately, Nature Metal) I’ve been having lately. 4.5

    • I’ve only tagged you in posts and linked their songs to you three-four times in the past few months 😛 I even waited with this review until the last day of my week, because I hoped you’d have time to give your opinion. But hey, better late than never, glad to hear you like it 😀

  3. Wow! A-MA-ZING!! Downloaded that right away. Thanks MSM guys 😉

Leave a Reply

