Mammal’s Merry Memories: TWO Halos of Flies

Since I am modest, humble and objective, I shall state that Killer, released in 1971, was far and away Alice Cooper’s best album, and a track from that album, “Halo of Flies”, is a gazillion times better than anything else he sang.

In the same long breath, I shall state emphatically that Meliah Rage’s version of “Halo of Flies” towers loftily above any other covers of the song. While remaining remarkably true to the original, it gave the song a power/thrash punch that made it a top-bracket piece of metal for the 21st century.

Cooper was a great-granddaddy of glam rock. He built a controversial and highly successful stage persona. I loved a lot of his earlier music and he deserved all that he achieved. One should never lose sight of the fact, however, that the impact of his music owed a huge amount to the backing — especially those relentless guitars.

Meliah Rage are also veterans. They started about three decades ago. Their “Halo of Flies” was a bonus track on their 2004 album, Barely Human. Like the title of the album on which it originally appeared 33 years earlier, their cover is a killer.

 

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on June 1, 2014, in Mammal's Merry Memories and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. My buddies and I do an annual Top 100 countdown called “Sausagefest”. (Link here if you’re curious http://mikeladano.com/2013/07/10/sausagefest-xii-video-report/.)

    Halo of Flies was my top pick a few years ago. I was really proud of that.

  2. ChristopherMammal

    That was a good choice. And if I ever travel to Sausageria I may sneak into Sausagefest. I’ll bring some south African farm sausages.

    The four of us at Metal State live on three contintents. We seldom all get together physically except for the monthly board meetings.

  3. It’s the first time I hear this song and it’s really good, but I just own one of the early albums by Alice Cooper, also I have five of his records. I think every Rock fan knows “Thrash” because of it’s lead single. A friend gave me “Hey Stoopid” shortly after that, I bought “Billion Dollar Babies” because it’s considered a classic and “Dirty Diamonds” and it’s predecessor, because they were a special deal. The point is, it’s really interesting how many metamorphoses you can see just on these records from three periods and none of them is a bad record.Of all the afore-mentioned records I actually like “Dirty Diamonds” the most.

Leave a Reply

