Roundtable Review: Destiny Potato – LUN

a2276940674_2Label: Independent

Release Date:  May 13, 2014

Length: 50 minutes, 12 tracks

Genre:  Modern, different Prog/indie/rock

Studio Albums: This is their debut

Location:  Belgrade, Serbia

For fans of: Experimental, fresh-sounding music, Devin Townsend, Lacuna Coil

.

WarpRider – With a name like Destiny Potato It’s unlikely I would have grabbed this off the shelf as an experiment, but after having it referred to me several times it was time for a listen.  First, the vocalist has a remarkable set of chords.  I enjoy the melodies combined with a much harder djenty/metalcore edge.  Mostly, I am captivated by the vocals; she is very impressive behind the mic. 4.0

.

Irmelinis – This record has been in the works for quite some time and was initially going to be released by Century Media, who signed the Destiny Potato immediately after attending one of their live shows. Although the band is still working with the label, they chose to go independent with “LUN” anyway. It’s their first album as a full band, but songwriter/guitarist David Maxim Micic, now working on his fourth solo release, is already famous in the progressive metal scene. Similar to his music, the atmosphere in Destiny Potato’s songs is fresh, vibrant and soulful, with an easy going, confident approach and absolutely irresistible, highly detailed compositions. The vocalist Alexandra Djelmas has one of the most fascinating female voices I’ve heard. Her dramatic, dark voice is full of attitude and it’s a pleasure to hear how she goes from soaring high notes to aggressive, insane screams, always keeping you on your toes while listening. The songs on “LUN” might be described as pop metal, they certainly have elements of both genres; the accessibility and polished melodies of pop music combined with the focus, sincerity and the heavier instrumentation of metal. I love the guitar work in “Indifferent”, the folk music influence in “Lunatic” and I’ve already played the beautiful “Love Song” more times than I can count. Magical potato music is fun, fun, fun. 5.0

.

ChristopherMammal – David Maxim Micic, a composer most prolific,

Writing music esoteric, from the tranquil to the hectic.

With Destiny Potato he satisfies the needy

Whose lust for something new makes them musically greedy.

The essence of his music may be largely prog and djent

Infused with sweet math metal of an intellectual bent.

But please don’t let that sway you if your love is death and ’core;

Once you’ve tasted this Potato, I am sure you’ll ask for more. 4.5

 

.

A Metal State of Mind Score – 4,5 out of 5 (based on three ratings)

Our ratings are done on a scale of 1-5 with a 1 being an abysmal album, a 2.5 being a halfway point (an O.K. album), and a 5 being outstanding. 

 

Full Album Stream: 

https://www.facebook.com/destinypotato

http://destinypotato.bandcamp.com/releases

About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on May 29, 2014, in Album Reviews, Roundtable Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. That sounds like a matured Avril Lavigne with a new backing band. Awful! Songs without depth, dynamic, memorability or character in any respect – songwriting, instrumental work, vocals or production. Destiny Potato are sounding to me as shallow, arbitrary and random as the band’s name suggests. If I would listen to this I could as well listen to mainstream radio and actually – and that’s the worst – find better songs…
    I always Am curious about and like to read and hear the bands you feature on Metal State but I’m honestly surprised by the fact that you all consider this outstanding… Actually I love Rock, Metal and all what’s connected to it because it’s opposed to crap like this. I’m sorry if that sounds pretty harsh, but it’s my honest opinion.

    • Being the usual 4th reviewer who occasionally pops up from time to time I didn’t get around to listening to this until just a few minutes ago after my cohorts have raved about the record (that is I finished my first full playthrough) and while not as scathing as your opinion Mr. Mullich, I didn’t care much for the record (and I’m the one who thrives on weird experimental shit here). It has it’s moments but I cringed more than went ‘neat-o’. The vocals are well performed and when they do the cheesy electo shit I got a bit of a chuckle, but those were the only things that held my fading attention.
      I’ll give ’em points for trying to be creative, but it just didn’t resonate at all with me.

      • I formulated it probably a bit harsh, but I’m honestly quite irritated by the fact that millions of edgeless mainstream compatible bands are market as Metal, as Hard, as Innovative, as emotionally deep and are getting millions of YouTube clicks for their awful produced, lame songs. I think I’m too young to sound like one of these Old School Metalheads I know and pitied for their “Oh, back then everything was better” phrase. But luckily for me there are lots of awesome new bands that are still out for music that isn’t Grandmother- and TV-commercial-compatible. Don’t get me wrong I have nothing against a well produced, good written, honest record from every genre I like and even if it’s Singer Songwriter or modern Indie Rock (two genres I normally hate). But lately I get the impression that what I consider a good production – a warm sound with a certain edge, where instruments actually sound like real instruments, that has dynamic and so on – is not what everyone else considers a good production. And that what I would consider a good written song, is now replaced by make it easy accessible and so on. But me getting upset on it is – in the end – senseless and useless. Taste is taste. So I stop here:-)

  2. ChristopherMammal

    If we all liked the same music there would be room in the world for only one band. I think we Metal State weird people hear and enjoy the avant prog, blues and fusion elements in Destiny Potatoe’s music as well as the very good djent flavour.

  3. wisevitamin5

    This has to be one of the best albums released in the genre. By far the best female vocal metal album released ever. Not only is this good djent, the vocals are amazing. Alexandra sounds like a freaking goddess. I listen to this album multiple times every day.

  4. Another technically brilliant album with nothing to say. It’s all too gimmicky for me.

    Why is music becoming more and more technical? Who are these people? What did they feel when writing these songs? I sense no humans in this album, just a bunch of theorists and machines coming together to prove something, opposed to express something.

Leave a Reply

