Roundtable Review: Process Pain – Outcast of Society

download (1)Label:  Inverse Records

Release Date:  9 May 2014

Songs:   10

Length:  38 Minutes

Genre:  Death Metal

Studio Albums:   This is their debut album.  They have two previous EPs – The Beginning and The Prologue

Location:  Finland

WarpRider – I wouldn’t go so far as to say death metal, but yes those heavy elements are definitely there.  They inject a lot of melody throughout their album which I find quite appealing and something I would expect from a Finnish band.  I don’t have much more to elaborate on here except that they hit hard and offer a nice counterbalance of melody.  They are a strong band that I think will find themselves with a steady career in metal!  3.5

Irmelinis – This band is labeled death metal or deathcore on several different sites, but there’s a large dose of melodic death in their music, with a typical Finnish sound. It’s an album that is easy to get into, it quickly makes you start tapping your foot to the rhythmic riffs and cool melodies. These songs are all lots of fun, with a polished, fresh sound that keeps a good balance between the melodic moments and the more brutal ones. If I get a chance to catch them live, I definitely will. Recommended! 3.5

ChristopherMammal – Some types of death metal require intense listening. Others make me want to leap about and misbehave (although only mildly). Then there is the slick type of deathcore I’m hearing from Process Pain, the type of death that makes me feel alive and warm and full of happy bubbles. It’s the type of music I’ll gleefully listen to all day. Can musical notes generate physical energy? I feel stronger already. This is the type of band I’d like to see in concert. 4.0

A Metal State of Mind Score – 3.6 out of 5 

About Reggie

Just a dude writing a heavy metal blog and always on the prowl for a cool metal show. I am also a family man...first and foremost!

Posted on May 23, 2014, in Album Reviews, Roundtable Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. A good song and considering the genre a relatively distinct voice.

Leave a Reply

