Mammal’s Merry Memories: Ready For Love (two versions)

Mott The Hoople had already released four albums and weren’t going anywhere. That changed in 1972 when David Bowie gave them one of his songs, “All The Young Dudes”, and produced an album of the same title for the band. They shot to prominence as a glam rock band. The album is recognised as a classic.

My favourite song on the album is actually “Ready For Love”, a rock ballad. Like the other music on “Young Dudes” it reflects a strong R&B influence. The album features numerous guest performers, including Bowie.The stand-out artist, however, is Ian Hunter, Mott The Hoople’s vocalist.

A year later the supergroup Bad Company formed and recorded their eponymous album. My favourite track on that album happens to be Bad Company’s cover of “Ready For Love”. It’s a lighter, more hard rock version. It is again the vocalist, this time Paul Rogers, who makes this song such a stand-out for me.

 

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on May 10, 2014, in Mammal's Merry Memories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hey Mr Mammal, I gotta say I’m really enjoying perusing your Merry Memories. Never investigated Mott – only heard Dudes and don’t much care for it – or Bad Co. so I’m pleasantly surprised to hear these songs. I like very much that you’re bringing a bit of old-school rock/R’n’B to AMSOM – it’s fascinating to hear some of the songs which spawned the rock/metal scene of today, from the perspective of one who didn’t grow up listening to them.

    As for this post in particular, I love how different bands interpret the same song so differently and yet with great respect and integrity. So just for fun, here’s a couple of my favourite ‘modern’ interpretations of classic rock tunes:

    I much prefer PSB’s version of Always On My Mind to Elvis’ actually – sacrilege, I know…

  2. ChristopherMammal

    Guls, you may telepathically tell my cat to knock my coffee over on my desk again, but:
    — I don’t know Doves or the M62 Song;
    — I don’t like the Pet Shop Boys and the doofa-doofa version is even worse;
    — I don’t know Dar Williams & Ani DiFranco, but I don’t want to hear them doing Floyd again.

    On the positive side, I never liked Elvis or his songs, so the Pet Shop Boys can do what they like with them.

    Later today (it’s Sunday here already) I shall hit Metal State with some classic prog and see how many people stuff their ears with melted vinyl.

Leave a Reply

