Reggie’s Essential 25 Favorite Instrumentals – #22 & #21

Warlock-Metal-Master-Blade-MMWGSVBKI love the power of a good instrumental song.  Sometimes they can be energizing or even relaxing depending on the band’s intent with the song.  Some bands use an instrumental song to display a different, sometimes softer side.  And, sometimes an instrumental is a collection of left over riffs and drum parts that didn’t make the final cut.  Or, perhaps they just couldn’t find the words to go with the music.  However they are composed, the instrumental song is a track I look for and hope to find on any album; though there are some bands where it’s almost an expectation.  This is list comprised of 25 word-less songs that I find essential to my music library.  I wouldn’t sweat over the exact order, but yeah the ones at or near the top of this list are definitely my favorites.  I know there are many more instrumental songs out there, but these are mine…so to speak.  This list is also limited to only three per band and only one band made this list three times.  Enjoy!

22.  The Call of the Ktulu – Metallica

Of all the songs on the track list for Metallica and the San Francisco Symphony, I think this one was the best one.  It was already dark and moody to begin with, but toss in a symphony and it gave this song much greater depth.  The rest of that album didn’t do much for me, but this one stuck out.  So, this one applies to both versions of the song.

21.  Coat of Arms – Sabaton

A band I never heard of until I saw them open one of the stages at Sonisphere 2010 in the U.K. (I think that was the year).  They got the crowd moving during their 10am set…or whenever it was they started.  Their music can be so motivational. For example, when I am working out and about to quit and call it a day I often turn to Sabaton to gather the motivation I need to go another 15 minutes or so.  Though there are some background vocals in this instrumental, I still consider it instrumental.

About Reggie

Just a dude writing a heavy metal blog and always on the prowl for a cool metal show. I am also a family man...first and foremost!

Posted on May 8, 2014, in Reggie's Top 25 Instrumentals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. ChristopherMammal

    Classical scoring and orchestral interpretations of modern music don’t often work for me except in works such as Therion’s Miskolc albums. The Sabaton instrumental, however, grips me by the endocrin glands.

  2. I think the Metallica song worked this time because it was already an instrumental on the album. When the entire “symphony” album was released I was kind of impressed mainly because The Call of The Ktulu was the first song of the show. Then, when they started playing regular Metallica tracks to the Symphony, I didn’t care for it. I think they could have picked better songs to have a symphony blended in. Of course, it works in black metal pretty well.

  3. As often criticized I also think that S & M doesn’t work, because it sounds like the orchestra and the band play against each other instead of playing together. I think it wasn’t a good adaption. But I love this song and Ride the lighting in general (the best Metallica record if I’m forced to choose just one).
    Sabaton is a band I just don’t like – IMO you can’t make simple, stereotypical ‘Power’ Metal and glorify war and some groups or people who committed war crimes, or sing about some of the most evil examples of human history and make a big live-party out of it. But I hate nationalism and patrotism in general (main cause of pretty much all wars) – so it is kind of obvious.

  4. Oh, crap nothing is worse in list making when you realize (or someone else points out) that you forgot an icon, A change will have to be made!

  5. Weirdly, I seem to have missed the first post in this series – no email notification. WP is a contrary bugger at times! I’m a big fan of rock instrumentals and I have a post in moderation, thusfar unfinished/unpublished of my favourite ones: note to self – finish more posts, lol!

    I also remain unpersuaded by S&M – like SirMullich I feel the rock and the orchestral rarely gel convincingly, Ktulu being a notable exception. By way of comparison, I saw a musical play of Ghost (the Patrick Swayze/Demi Moore/Whoopi Goldberg picture) a couple years back which – as fantastic as the production looked – left me scratching my beard for much the same reason: the songs, like Michael Nyman’s score, really didn’t add anything. The story was already complete without them. By way of contrast, the orchestral section of Dream Theater’s Score show was really enhanced by the additional musicians. I feel the same way about covers and remixes – you really need to bring something new to the song to make it worth the effort.

    Sabaton I’m not familiar with – so I can’t reflect with any authenticity on SirMullich’s comments – but I LOVE the track, musically. The combination of rock band and choir sounds amazing.

    For kicks, I’m gonna throw into the mix a rock instro I really love: Europe got a bum deal from a lot of metal fans back in the day, for peddling a diluted, poppy brand of hard rock: although if I was anyways typical of the breed, The Final Countdown was always a bit of a guilty pleasure. I saw them at the Hammy O on the Out Of This World Tour and they were brilliant; much harder than some of their recorded output would lead one to believe. For bonus entertainment, Mic Michaeli fell off his riser – pissed I think, though he played well enough. Aphasia is a John Norum composition from their second album, Wings Of Tomorrow – a really strong album, I think.

    • I was always a big fan of the 80s, but I will admit Europe never really caught my attention though their claim to fame is quite catchy. I appreciate your enjoyment of instrumentals. There are so many out there it’s hard to fit them into 25 songs. And, I left out Marty Friedman. How silly of me to forget the obvious. Well, there is time to make adjustments. Thank you for stopping by and also that track you posted is great on guitars.

Leave a Reply

