Monday Metal Madness Mini Review Meltdown

For this Monday Metal Madness I thought I would incorporate an article for voting, but this time use actual mini reviews as the source of scrutiny.  I am curious to see which of these three bands you like the most.  We received all of these at pretty much the same time.  I happened to grab hold of them and liked them all even though they are three different metal genres.  They all offer something pleasurable to listen to in my humble opinion.  I have provided a brief synopsis of their respective styles along with some basic information about the band and what I think of their newly released or about to be released album.  I was going to rate the albums, but I do not want to skew anything in the voting.  Bottom line, I like them all.  Though, I will cast my vote later on.  I’d love to hear your comments down in the comments section too.  What did you like and why?  Happy voting, but more importantly happy listening.  The latter is really the point isn’t it?

Hannes Grossmann – The Radial Covenant

For a guy who seems to be quite a busy drummer his name and work escaped me until a promo copy of The Radial Covenant arrived in our inbox.  I now know a little bit of Hannes Grossmann though I feel I should have known him long before about two weeks ago.  If you are a fan of Obscura, then you already know who I am talking about, but I haven’t and this is all new to me.  The Radial Covenant is his first solo album; loaded with progressive death metal that is excellently woven into a brutally melodic album.  I was hooked from the opening track, but Sorcerer is a song that completely floored me and will probably go down as one of my favorite songs of the year.  I did sample Obscura for comparison purposes and I will say that the technical aspects between both bands is along the same lines, but I think Hannes Grossmann’s solo work leans a bit more on the melodic death metal side vs. sheer speed and technicality.  Like I said though the differences are subtle.  The album was released 22 Jan 2014 and was self-released.  Below is the video for your voting pleasure.

Jupiter Zeus – On Earth

Jupiter Zeus blurs the lines between psychedelic spacey rock and straightforward grunge such as Alice in Chains – one of my personal favorites of that genre.  On Earth is their new album released on 11 March 2014.  The band’s influences are Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, AC/DC, Pink Floyd, Kyuss, and David Bowie.  After listening to this album for a few weeks I can certainly see that their influence steer the band to their own refined sound.  I thoroughly enjoyed the album from beginning to end even though most of the songs don’t stray too far from their core sound.  It’s a relatively steady cadence of mood and groove all the way through.  It still captivated me and provided a solid 45 minutes of thought exploration.

Neptune – Prelude to Nothing

Neptune has been around for a little while and like Hannes Grossman (the person), I never heard of them until their promo arrived in our inbox as well.  From my perspective, it was a good week when all these albums arrived at nearly the same time.  Neptune is classified as melodic death metal; Prelude to Nothing is a solidly brutal album that focuses on melody. Maybe that’s why they call it melodic death metal.  They do it well and I was surprised to get another album I wanted to listen to from beginning to end.  It certainly made for a motivating work out album.  I like the brutality combined with some lighter choruses.  Prelude to Nothing will be released 28 April 2014 via Earthquake Terror Noise.  Check out Drifting below.  It’s a great example of the overall feel of the album.

About Reggie

Just a dude writing a heavy metal blog and always on the prowl for a cool metal show. I am also a family man...first and foremost!

Posted on April 28, 2014, in Album Reviews, Polls and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

