Mammal’s Merry Memories: Def Leppard – Photograph (1983)

There are many metal fans today who dismiss Def Leppard as a commercially driven pop-rock band, not true metal. That’s understandable in late-comers to the music of Def Leppard. With the release of their sixth album, Slang, in 1996, the band changed its style considerably and became a soft alternative rock band. My first reaction to Slang was: “Hello, hello, what’s going on here, then? Move along, please, there’s nothing to see here.”

The band released nine albums between 1980 and 2008. It is their first five albums that I love. Def Leppard never set out to be a metal band. They did however establish themselves as one of the best and most consistently musical hard rock bands of the 1980s.

“True” metal lovers can point to another reason for their disdain. Even at the height of their hard rock phase, Def Leppard were sometimes listed as a pop metal band or (urk) glam metal.

To me, their third album, Pyromania (1983), is their stand-out. The most successful song on the album was this one. It awakens special memories for me.

 

 

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on April 27, 2014, in News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I have a hard time choosing between Pyromania and High ‘n’ Dry, but I think High ‘n’ Dry gets the edge. Having said that I’ve bought Pyromania about 4 or 5 times now!

  2. I was 10 when this album came out and realized that I was old enough to have a favorite band. I would like to thank Def Leppard for turning me into the metalhead I am today. It all has to start somewhere, right?. Prior to Def Leppard I was all over the place listening to things I won’t admit to today. it took a while before I discovered Metallica and ended up where I am today, but Pyromania laid the foundation for all other “hair” bands. Metal evolution then took it’s course. Right now I am listening to D.R.I. I love Thrashzone! I love metal! And, I still throw in some Def Leppard now and then.

  3. ChristopherMammal

    It’s heartening to know both of you guys enjoyed Def Leppard as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

