Roundtable Review: Art Far Away – Verisimilitude & The Second Estate

Verisimilitude & The Second Estate

“And at the end of fear, oblivion. The heart stops beating, as blood fills up your body. Your broken back is gently healing from the soft pavement. The fingers that were once embedded deeply in the concrete are now moving freely.”

Release Date:  March 8th 2014, self-released

Songs:  12

Genre:  Progressive death metal

Location:  Gothenburg, Sweden

.

WarpRider Art Far Away combines many aspects of metal I enjoy; the bone-crunching riffs, the growling vocals, and the fierce drumming.  Combined, it’s a level of intensity I can only take in moderation.  This appears to be one of those albums that takes a while to really appreciate because there is just so much going on.  3.0

Atleastimhousebroken –  I really have to applaud Art Far Away for pushing boundaries and going balls out with the experimentation.  However, in their kitchen sink approach to progressive death metal I found there was just too much going on. My attention span is that of a squirrel, and yet I found the quick and often abrupt style and tonal changes to be a bit too much.  Plus the sheer amount of stuff going on at the same time was a tad much for my brain to process.  For some, I can see this album being a gold star, especially those that are really inclined to bands like Between the Buried and Me and Protest the Hero.  But unlike BTBAM, I feel there is too little focus and flow. These guys will be on my radar because they have potential, things just need to get the fat cut out and edges sanded down. 2.5

Art Far Away 1

Irmelinis – After an unfortunate loss of all the recorded material for their first album, these ambitious Swedish lads had to start over from the beginning, writing new songs. Another three years of never giving up and they are back with a full length that pulls off “a million things at once” extremely well. Never does it sound disjoined or cluttered, like many other tech-y albums do. There is a good sense of coherence in the songs, strong character and great variation. From excellent proggy shredding in “Obfuscation” and the angry Architects-metalcore in “White Man’s Burden” to the insanity of “Alice” (oh, lovely madness) and the mighty Gojira-punchy riffs in “Gentlemen’s Club”. Every technical chug, rhythmic beat and screamed word is carefully composed and dripping of passion. It leaves me feeling a little bit more crazy after listening to it, and I love that. “Verisimilitude & The Second Estate” is a fascinating and challenging album from a very promising young band. 4.5

ChristopherMammal– I don’t believe I’ve ever heard anything like this before. There’s a delicious surprise in the music about once every 30 seconds. Over the length of the album, that’s about 100 Easter eggs wrapped in gold foil. Art Far Away is surely one of the most creative bands to emerge in any genre this century. Their music is bits of everything – the heart of it is djent but there are pieces of punk, ’core, death, thrash, prog, electronic and other metal gleefully tangled up in one extraordinary package. Since I’ve already engraved the name of this album on my titanium Best of 2014, I can’t give it less than full marks. 5.0

 

A Metal State of Mind Score –  3,75 out of 5

Our ratings are done on a scale of 1-5 with a 1 being an abysmal album, a 2.5 being a halfway point (an O.K. album), and a 5 being outstanding. 

 

 

 

 

https://www.facebook.com/artfaraway

 

About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on April 22, 2014, in Album Reviews, Roundtable Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

