Roundtable Album Review: Midnight Moonswings – The Surrogate Piano

Midnight_Moodswings_CoverLabel: GodHatesGod Records

Release Date: December, 2013

Songs: 15

Length: 54 minutes

Genre: Post rock

Studio Albums: 1 previous album

Location: Belgium

WarpRider – Midnight Moodswings definitely named their band appropriately. I can see myself up late at night having a hard time sleeping and spinning The Surrogate Piano hoping it will calm the senses and allow my mind to drift off to a peaceful sleep. The music is good and more on the jazzy side from time to time; 54 minutes of it, though, is a long time. 3.0

Irmelinis – The music plays out like a movie, always with an underlying eerie, troubled feeling. A quiet piano like drops of water falling down on a rainy day. The guitars sounding like the footsteps of someone that is confused and frustrated. It’s bleak and dark, very reflective and laid back. Minimalistic, natural compositions directly from the heart. Very enjoyable album. 3.5

ChristopherMammal – This is post rock? It doesn’t feel like it. I hear ambient waffling with occasional sonic dissonance. I had to check a few times to see if I was listening to the same track. It isn’t fair of me to rate music to which I cannot relate, so I shall give it a generous OK. 2.5

A Metal State of Mind Score – 3.0 out of 5

 

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on April 4, 2014, in Roundtable Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

