Round Table Review: The Mother of Virtue by Pyrrhon

12 Jacket (Gatefold - Two Pocket) [GD30OB2-N]Label: Relapse Records

Release Date: Out Now

Songs: 9

Genre: Tech-Deth

Studio Albums: This is their 3rd album

Location: NY, USA

WarpRider – I can see a market for this kind of disheveled and frenzied brand of metal. Though, it doesn’t sit well with me, it has to take some kind of genius to put all those chords in some kind of coherent, but chaotic order for someone to understand it. It’s just not me. 2.0

Atleastimhousebroken – Really hard to digest tech metal is really hit or miss with me.  For example, I freaking love Gorguts and Dillinger Escape Plan whereas stuff like Ulcerate or Portal don’t really do much for me.  There isn’t any real rhyme or reason why, some click, some don’t. All of the former could be considered contemporaries of Pyrrhon, but do they belong to the side that clicks?  Yup, they do.  I would say it’s the avant-garde jazz side (that often bring memories of Mr. Bungle’s 2nd album Disco Volante to mind when listening) that really catches my ear and engages me and the fact that the music is just weird and discordant enough to be counter-culture (as if metal isn’t counter-culture enough 😛 ) but not so chaotic that some semblance of flow or coherence exists.  The Mother of Virtue is a very demanding listen and one I can say is wholly rewarding if you put the time into it.  Highly recommended to fans of weird tech-death metal. 4.5

Irmelinis – The Mother of Vicious Noise? Yes, they do have some gorgeously tasty bass lines and extremely interesting compositions… if only it wasn’t so tiring to listen to. But and I can’t help but being impressed; this is not an average band, or an average album. However, it might require that you’re in the right chaotic mood to be able to experience the fun in these songs. You should check it out. 3.0

ChristopherMammal – I confess this is a bit too heavy for me to discuss fairly. Good technical metal is usually noteworthy for its rich melodies as well as its instrumental prowess. This album leaves me with the feeling that there is more emphasis on technique than tune. Doing my best to rate it from the perspective of a hard-as-leather tech death fan – which I’m not – I’d say the band holds its own against similar bands. 3.0

A Metal State of Mind Score – 3.1 out of 5

About RiffRaff

Just takin' it easy for all you sinners.

Posted on April 4, 2014, in Roundtable Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

