Stream of the Week: Ringworm – Hammer of the Witch

How it that a band like Ringworm passes me by unnoticed?  Just when I feel I am broadening my horizons in metal to the nth degree, awesome bands just appear out of nowhere.  Except, they aren’t from nowhere.  They are from Cleveland.  That’s somewhere.  I know it is because I have driven through there like four times – never stopped.  Perhaps it’s all about marketing because I just checked, I am not living under a rock.  Anyway, if their Relapse Records debut album, Hammer of the Witch, doesn’t inspire chair throwing before 1:18 into Dawn of Decay, then I don’t know what to say about you except that you probably like Nickelback.

Their release date, 18 March 2014, kind of came and went like any other day.  Then I started seeing all these posts about the band as it soon appeared in our own inbox.  I figure it’s worth checking out.  To make a long pointless story short, it’s a killer mix of everything great about groove, hardcore, thrash, and death metal.  The vocals are intense, yet mostly coherent which is not always important, but nice when you can make out more than a few words.  Seriously, if I needed to hire someone to yell at my kids to get them to go to bed on time, I would hire this guy.  Listen and you will see why.

Overall, the album is pretty f’n solid; fifteen tracks of break neck, throw something across the room viciousness.  Enjoy!

About Reggie

Just a dude writing a heavy metal blog and always on the prowl for a cool metal show. I am also a family man...first and foremost!

Posted on March 29, 2014, in Exploring New Things and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

