Roundtable Review: Architects – Lost Forever // Lost Together

388089

“We’re all on our own, we can’t decide what’s true. Why are we fighting, when I’m just like you?”

Label:  Epitaph Records

Release Date:  March 11, 2014

Length: 43 minutes

Genre:  Progressive metalcore, post-hardcore

Studio Albums: Nightmares 2006, Ruin 2007, Hollow Crown 2009, The Here and Now 2011, Daybreaker 2012

Location:  Brighton, UK

WarpRider–I tread lightly when I am introduced to a metalcore band. When a band like Architects add a little something extra, such as a progressive element, to their songs it gives the music depth and therefore interests me. Beyond the screaming and choppy riffs, I enjoy the melodic choruses, additional riffing, and odd time signatures. I have to say, I am surprised I like this album. I always thought of Architects as just another scream till you bleed band, but behind that simple exterior there is something interesting and pleasurable going on here. 3.8

ArchitectsIrmelinis – “I’m a dreamer and I’m dreaming on!” I never expected it to happen, but I’m blown away in every way by this album. IT’S SO MUCH FUN! From the first second to the very last moment it’s immensely engaging; with beautiful dynamics and full-force intense energy that never lets you go. Every song is dripping with unbridled passion and confidence, it doesn’t matter one bit that it’s not very original or groundbreaking, because it all works so damn well! I feel the energy ripping through my ears, crushing everything in its way, it stops for a glorious scream-along chorus and at the exact right moment I’m slammed back into relentless blast beats, angry yelling and fierce breakdowns. A perfect release of energy and emotions. It’s well-produced music with integrity and heart. It’s Architects and they are sounding better than ever. 5.0

ChristopherMammal– Looking for really good metalcore? This is it. Want some mighty post hardcore? This is it too. How about a creative, progressive approach to ’core? Great vocals, depth of talent, varied compositions? Emotive clean vocals and caressing waves of gentler sound flowing through the hard metal? Many highly memorable songs that’ll play through your head days later? Yes, you’d better get this one. 4.3

A Metal State of Mind Score – 4.3 out of 5  (based on three ratings)

(On a scale of 1-5 with a 1 being an abysmal album, a 2.5 being a halfway point (an O.K. album), and a 5 being outstanding.) 

http://www.architectsofficial.com/

https://www.facebook.com/architectsuk

About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on March 19, 2014, in Album Reviews, Roundtable Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I bought the record since I read some good reviews about the band in the past and now here. But I don’t hear anything special on this record (and will probably give it to someone as present). It’s just typical Metalcore. No depth, no variation, nothing memorable, the singer has only two singing styles and it is produced like about a thousand other records of that genre. Immensly boring.

    • Too bad you didn’t like it.
      And yes, like I said above, it is nothing original, it is typical metalcore. To me it doesn’t have to be original, or stand out to be good, if it’s done in a fun, honest and confident way like this album is. I do not usually like metalcore much, but this just works. 🙂

      I saw the band live last night, and they did not disappoint one bit. It was an awesome and very energetic show! Even though I was almost twice the age of the fans in the circle pit 😉

    • Sigh. I’m not surprised, they are a Christian band. It’s good to see that members from many other bands react to this though, and that it’s covered in media. Intolerance should never be tolerated. Except when it comes to intolerant people.

Leave a Reply

