Roundtable Review: Kill Ritual – The Eyes of Medusa

Kill Ritual coverLabel: GoldenCore Records/ZYX Music

Release Date: 4 April 2014

Songs: 10

Length: 52 minutes

Genre: Thrash ’N’ Roll

Studio Albums: Two previous albums

Location: USA/Italy

 

 

WarpRider – Kill Ritual is the kind of band I “should” like but no matter how many times I spin this album, it just doesn’t grab me. Despite the thrashy and melodic essentials I find pleasing to the ear, Kill Ritual doesn’t grab me. Though, I will say objectively I think they are talented and will probably appeal to a broad audience, it just won’t be me in that audience. 2.5

Atleastimhousebroken – Part of me wanted to love this hair/thrash metal combo, but a couple things held me back. While there is a great variety to the songs, it oft times feels a bit paint-by-numbers. And I just couldn’t get into the vocalist. He had this nasally Axl Rose style meets the smugness of that Motley Crue guy. Those vocals really made it hard for me to want to return to some otherwise well written songs and fun music. If you are in the camp that likes nasally Axl Rose vocals then you should dig this album as it’s pretty fun. 3.0

Irmelinis – Easy and classic listening (if you’re into rock/glam), but they are trying too hard. No inspiration or sincerity can be heard, the constantly chugging guitars are obnoxious and the songs need way more punch and variation to be really fun. 1.5

ChristopherMammal – Kill Ritual may sound derivative and repetitive to newer metal fans who aren’t familiar with the old-school style of thrash, which is much like old-school heavy metal in many ways. It is draws on ominous themes as well as rah-rah, “We are metal!” jolliness. The songs are rich in melody, the vocals are clean, high tenor and the heart of the music is those compelling drumming sequences and powerful, mesmering riffs. Kill Ritual does all of this very well and adds some modern structures and occasional darker vocals. 3.2

A Metal State of Mind Score – 2.6 out of 5

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on March 13, 2014, in Roundtable Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

