Roundtable Review: Ceremonial – Ars Magicka (EP)

Ceremonial coverLabel: Blood Harvest

Release Date: 31 March 2014

Songs: 4

Length: 14 minutes

Genre: Black Metal

Studio Albums: This is their debut album

Location: Chile

 

WarpRider – If you like music that sounds like it is being sung into an empty coffee can, Ceremonial is right up your alley. Again, more black metal that I find so hard to appreciate. 1.5

Atleastimhousebroken – I can appreciate some good “tr00 kvlt” black metal from time to time and this isn’t one of those times. To me it sounds as if the lo-fi production has less to do with atmosphere and just a band trying to be “kvlt”. The songs are your standard paint-by-the-numbers black metal and nothing made me want to give the album a second spin. 1.5

ChristopherMammal – I believe I’ve heard this before. It’s thrash, isn’t it, like all those other bands play? Oh, my mistake, it’s black metal like all those other bands play. I believe I’ve heard this before. It’s a submarine. The band was inside, the microphones were outside. Guys, with the resurgence in old-school black metal, this is becoming one of the most competitive genres. You need to bring newer and bigger weapons to the fight. 2.5

A Metal State of Mind Score – 1.8 out of 5 (based on 3 ratings)

No video or audio stream available.

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on March 11, 2014, in News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

