Roundtable Review: Tribazik – Data Warfare

TRIBAZIK-–-DATA-WARFARE-e1391949507175Label:  Shyride Records

Release Date:  10 Feb 2014

Songs:   10

Length:  50 Minutes

Genre:  Electronic/Industrial Psychedelic Space Metal

Studio Albums:  This is their debut album

Location:  England (London)

WarpRider – I typically shy away from electronica-induced music.  It tends to have a repetitive nature.  I think it’s the heavy metal parts mixed in that is the draw for me for bands like Tribazik.  This is an interesting album to me where I hear The Prodigy and parts of Pendulum combined with heavy elements.  I gave the album a shot and I find some things I like.  On the same note, not an album that I can listen to from beginning to end either. I can imagine for fans of this style…they would probably enjoy this.  2.5 

Atleastimhousebroken – I couldn’t make it through a single song.  I can usually get down with some electronic music (read: no dubstep) but this pretty much gave me a migraine.  Repetitious to a fault and a lack of thick grooves or even much of a low end didn’t help much in the ‘putting me into a trance’ dept. that electronic music does for me.  If anything interesting happened past the 2 minute mark on their songs than I lost out.  With-holding score because I couldn’t listen to the whole album.

Irmelinis – Fun stuff! This is engaging and crazy, a metal-tronic album filled with creative, focused and very diverse music with great depth. It feels enthusiastic and positive, containing cool arrangements and rave-friendly rhythms, plenty of hooks and no fillers. The vocals also work surprisingly well in all of this. I love the mix of metal and electronic music, it’s awesome to enjoy other styles of music while not abandoning metal completely. I could dance all night to this! 4.0

ChristopherMammal – Electronica isn’t my favourite music. On the other hand, I love psychedelic/space rock. Data Warfare is a hybrid of the two types of music. I would have preferred fewer synthetic electronic sounds at the start of every song, but once the guitars and vocals kick in, the result is an extremely inventive and melodious album that will grow on me, I’m sure. The frequent departures from the main themes make this an interesting experience. 4.0

A Metal State of Mind Score – 3.5 out of 5 (based on three scores)

About Reggie

Just a dude writing a heavy metal blog and always on the prowl for a cool metal show. I am also a family man...first and foremost!

Posted on March 7, 2014, in Roundtable Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Interesting mix of styles! I’d have liked the song to be longer in order to develop some of the themes more: in particular to give the uptempo rock sections a chance to really get going and build up a head of steam, and in turn really stretch out the breakdown into more jammy, spacey mode. The dynamics are great and deserve to be pushed to a fuller extent. Love the drumming/percussion, particularly. Do you guys know Celldweller and/or Apollo 440? They do this Rocktronica thing well.

    • I have heard Celldweller before and have been asked to review them. It’s a hard genre for me to appreciate, but I try. Of course, I love the metal parts. I haven’t heard of the second band you mention, Apollo 440. Interesting song you posted. It reminds me of something I just can’t quite think of at the moment.

Leave a Reply

