Roundtable Review: Nothing – Guilty of Everything

CD cover NothingLabel:  Relapse Records

Release Date:  28 Feb 2014

Songs:   9

Length:  39 Minutes

Genre:  Ambient/Alternative Post-Rock

Studio Albums:   This is their debut album

Location:  United States (Pennsylvania)

WarpRider – I hear early Deftones influence in their songs with the whispery style of vocals especially.  Once I got past that (I kind of hate Deftones), the album drew me into my moody side and allowed my mind to wander lazily.  I like a cool alt rock band if it’s fresh and I think that is where Nothing captures the spirit of alt rock without sounding like a rehashed grunge band.  They have some substance that allows the listener to be deeply penetrated. 3.0 

Atleastimhousebroken While a little overly fuzzy at times Nothing sucked me into their music more often than not.  When they aren’t dabbling in your standard fare alt. rock and glide over to the post rock influences the album really shines.  Influences of Queens of the Stone Age, Sonic Youth, and The Pixies are strong with this one.  If you dig any of those bands, grunge, or garage rock, this album is worth a listen. 3.0

Irmelinis – While playing the “guess a band’s style of music from their promo pics”- game I came across these four sexy looking guys (one of them holding a flower) and I have to admit that made me very curious to press play on this album. To my surprise it turns out to be filled with some kind of beautiful, majestic sludgy shoegaze, reminding me of John Lennon’s slower songs mixed with the dreaminess of Alcest and the cryptic sound of Smashing Pumpkins. I have nothing really negative to say about this; it’s heartfelt and dreamy, well crafted and enjoyable to the very last note. 3.5

ChristopherMammal – How many successive vowels am I allowed to use? This is smooooth. It offers sweeeet harmonised vocals tempered by metre-thick layers of post-metal guitar. The interludes of electric guitar solos played acoustic style, then melding into another wall of sound, add introspection and depth to the music. All round, the album is pleasing, although there is isn’t anything notably memorable about it. 3.5

A Metal State of Mind Score – 3.3 out of 5 

About Reggie

Just a dude writing a heavy metal blog and always on the prowl for a cool metal show. I am also a family man...first and foremost!

Posted on March 3, 2014, in Roundtable Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

