Mik’s Top 100 Favourite Albums of All Time – The top 5

Top100A while ago, at the same time as Matt and Reggie, I posted my Top 100 All Time Favourite (Metal) Albums over at the forum The History of Metal on FB. It took a good amount of time and effort to put it together, but it was so much fun! My taste in metal is always changing, so the list will not always look the same. In fact, it’s already a bit different than it was when I first put it together and posted it on the forum seven months ago.

I tried to limit myself to three albums per band to make the list a little more diverse and interesting. I don’t really consider the ‘test of time’-factor when selecting what albums that will go on my list, instead I measure it by how strongly the album has affected me emotionally and how much/often it has helped me through both good and bad phases in my life. That’s why you can find quite a few newer releases among my favourites too. 

.

We’re down to the last post, my top five best albums ever released of all the thousands and thousands of cd’s I’ve listened to during the years. 

.

#5  Altar Of Plagues – Teethed Glory And Injury

An album from 2013 which, after almost daily spins throughout most of last year, has to be mentioned in the top of this list. Like I said in my review;  it is an extremely rewarding listen. It’s an album packed with depth, darkness and tortured pain executed in the most beautiful way. Primitive and intimate music with a forceful and disturbing atmosphere. Music like this is necessary to balance out all the melodic and proggy stuff in my cd-collection.

.

#4 Gojira – From Mars To Sirius

The singing whale, the floating beat and the earthy voice. A perfect example of graceful, groovy, mechanical music full of soul and beauty. I wasn’t sure that was possible until I heard Gojira’s ‘From Mars To Sirius’. The gentle atmosphere combined with the crushing, clear sound and how they paint pictures with their music takes my breath away every time.

.

#3 Opeth – Blackwater Park

The outside is as beautiful as the inside. What makes ‘Blackwater Park’ stand out, among all of their other excellent releases, is that it is (to me) the only Opeth album that has a melancholic, extremely coherent and flowing atmosphere from the beginning to the end. It’s just as desperately bleak, grey and sorrowful as the album cover.  Sweeping, emotional, technical, memorable and flawless.

.

#2 TesseracT – Altered State

This is the fourth 2013 release that goes directly on to my top 100 list. And made its way to the top, being my most played album of last year. I have already tried to explain in a review what ‘Altered State’ is about, how wonderfully and perfectly composed it is and how complex and incredibly interesting it is to listen to. The first movement (the first three tracks) of the album called ‘Of Matter’ might be the best collection of tracks TesseracT has written. The whole album is just magical and I love how you can hear every detail of the instruments so clearly throughout the songs, the bass and the drums in particular are my favourite parts to listen to.

.

#1 TesseracT – One

The album title already said it, this is number one. Tesseract’s debut has meant more to me in the last three years than any other album ever has. The layered, vibrant and ambient sound brings out feelings I didn’t know I had… and feelings I had buried deep inside. Every tone, every word touches me. I’m sure you know what I mean. When I first heard it took me by surprise, never thought it’d be a debut cd from a new band that would give me such a profound experience. But like I always say; you can’t control your taste in music.

‘One’ is my precioussss… the album I’d bring to a deserted island, this is the one I sometimes hesitate to play because it’s just too good to listen to all the time, but end up listen to anyway. And every time feels like the first, it’s fresh, it gives me a new experience. Fascinating and inexplicable.

.
About Irmelinis

A friend told me that I was delusional. I almost fell off my unicorn.

Posted on February 28, 2014, in Mik's Top 100 Albums and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

