Roundtable Review: Shroud of the Heretic – Revelations in Alchemy

Shroud of the Heretic CoverLabel: Blood Harvest Records

Release Date: 10 March 2014

Songs: 7

Length: 42 minutes

Genre: Occult death/doom

Studio Albums: Boiled to Death (EP, 2012)

Location: Portland, USA 

WarpRider – I was just about to call it quits until the third song started and displayed a much angrier tone that the drone of the first two. I felt like my head was in a vice and I was waiting to die. I am not sure they can tune down their instruments and vocals any further. Not my cup of tea, but I can see where it would appeal to a particular audience adept at this level of doom. 1.5

Atleastimhousebroken Listening to this record reminded me of going to watch my friends pound on their instruments and grunt into a microphone at some basement party while a bunch of drunken fools raged out when I was in my early 20s. Take that however you wish. 3.0

Irmelinis – Primitive and nightmarish death metal with blackened elements and a simple, scary sound. With a bit of funeral doom, some very fuzzy stoner influences and hypnotic percussion this album possesses a strange flowing atmosphere and it’s difficult to find a comfortable feeling while listening to it. 2.0

ChristopherMammal – Apart from one or two occasions when the members of the band are abducted by demons and the instruments make their own random noises, what we have here is a disturbing but engrossing album of very sludgy death and doom. The band might want me to say it’s the sludge of ashes from a crematorium stirred into the fluids of putrefaction, but to me it’s more like raw treacle – gooey, as bitter as it’s sweet, and flavoursome. 3.6

A Metal State of Mind Score – 2.5

 

About ChristopherMammal

I've made it to Mammal. I still hope to be classified as Human one day. Meanwhile I have evolved enough to recognise different types of music as well as the shrieks of certain vervet monkeys who are known for their scurrilous behaviour in the proximity of unguarded bananas.

Posted on February 19, 2014, in News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

